Computer just cuts out ?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by TAFFY653, Jan 2, 2011.

  1. TAFFY653

    TAFFY653 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    my new computer build is been plagued with problems first hard drive now i dont know
    it loads up fine then after about 10 mins just cuts off ive watched the cpu temp and it stays at 40c which aint that hot the cut off make the screen flicker then boom no power
    any ideas?
     
  2. Digerati

    Digerati Fantastic Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    159
    When new builds have problems, I always recommend pulling the motherboard to make sure there are no extra standoffs underneath. Note that cases are designed to support 1000s of motherboards. The ATX Form Factor standard only says where motherboard mounting holes can be, not where they will be. Therefore it is common for cases to have several more mounting holes than the motherboard and a common mistake (among new builders and experienced too) is to put an extra standoff or two in the case, which then shorts out the board when it is powered up. The typical symptom is immediate problems and not 10 minutes after boot, but as matter heats up, it expands and so this delay during the expansion period may explain the delay of the symptoms.

    Do make sure you have connected all the necessary power connections and that they are tight. Most motherboards take at least two. Many graphics cards require additional connections.

    You may have bad or incompatible RAM. Try running with just one stick at a time.

    Is your PSU adequate for the demands? What are your hardware specs?

    What do you mean by "boom"?
     
  3. TAFFY653

    TAFFY653 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have checked for any standoffs seems to be just the ones that attach to the motherboard.
    the motherboard takes 2 power areas and they are both plugged in and they seem to be fine ive also checked with another psu and it still cuts out.
    when the computer is running it seems to pick up the ram shown in the settings so they seem to be working too.

    my specs are
    Nzxt phantom case
    gigabyte h55m-ud2h motherboard
    4 gb ddr3 ram
    corsair 430wat builder psu
    1TB Samsung hard drive

    the boom is just a term for the sudden loss of power but the computer seems to restart on its own too ive checked the button and seems to be fine and the power button and they are both ok
     
  4. Digerati

    Digerati Fantastic Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    159
    Ummm, not sure if I am confused or you are. Standoffs don't attach to the motherboard. The are the brass piece that screws into the case and the motherboard is then screwed into the standoff.

    [​IMG]

    Checking with a 2nd PSU rules that out. Even though all 4Gb of RAM is seen, I would still try one stick at time.
     
    #4 Digerati, Jan 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  5. TAFFY653

    TAFFY653 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    ino they connect to the case but my motherboard only has 7 holes for fixing and there are only 7 connected to the case.
    well my mates seem to think a broken motherboard but i dont wanna fork out on another one
    right just trying now with 1 stick of ram
     
  6. Digerati

    Digerati Fantastic Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    159
    It could be the motherboard and while Gigabyte is my preferred brand and tend to be very reliable, you could have a bad one. Is your RAM on the recommended RAM list for that board?
     
  7. TAFFY653

    TAFFY653 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just used generic ram i think its kingston
     
  8. Digerati

    Digerati Fantastic Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    159
    Kingston is a brand name. Note it is not absolutely necessary to buy off the Memory Support List because there are just too many brands and models in the world for Gigabyte to test and certify each one for each of their motherboards. But buying off the list helps ensure you get the right stuff. You should at least ensure you buy sticks with the same specifications as those on the list.
     
  9. TAFFY653

    TAFFY653 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    just had a peek and my ram are on the list
    yeh im just checking now about the warranty see if i can get a new one soon :D
     
  10. Digerati

    Digerati Fantastic Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    159
    A new what?
     
  11. TAFFY653

    TAFFY653 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh right im speaking to ebuyer about the motherboard they may send me a new one gotta phone again tomorrow
     

Share This Page

Loading...