Windows 8 Disk Partition for Windows and Ubuntu

HTHVampire

Hi,

Currently on my laptop, I have a 120gb SSD and a 500gb WD Black HDD.
I plan to have Windows 7 & 8, Ubuntu to install on my 120gb SSD.

Windows 8 will be my main usage(installing lots of software like Adobe, Corel Video Studio, Microsoft Office etc...), windows 7 for incompability software use purpose and I'm interested on having a try on Ubuntu for programming use all that stuff, I'm new to Ubuntu actually.

May I know that what is the recommended partition for my 120gb SSD? In the case I want to have 30gb for my storage purpose and it will be 90gb available.

Can someone advices me? Thank you.

Can we assume that this system has 8 on it already?
If working from scratch (in order);
1. Turn off secure boot from the bios.
2. I’d install windows 8 onto the ssd as a 100 g drive.
3. Format the remaining sdd as a windows drive.
4. Split the 500 g how you want but again I’d…
5. Make 400 g windows data drive which leaves you just under 100 g remaining for the extra operating systems without wasting any ssd or getting muddled up.
6. Make a 50 g drive & install the windows 7 as efi.
7. Make a 1g drive for Ubuntu swap,
8. Make a 20 g Linux drive and install Ubuntu… it doesn’t need much.
9. Turn secure boot back on.
Note 1: Don’t try to install windows 7 onto the ssd drive because it will see (and default to) the other drive anyway.
Note 2: This setup order will make the windows 8 system very stable and self-contained at the front of the drives which makes formatting the Ubuntu | w7 easy without locking yourself into the dreaded recovery drive shuffle.
Note 3: Ubuntu is not compatible with windows 8… putting it at the end of the drive will lower the issues as will installing windows 7 in the middle.
Note 4: Good software that can make bootable Backups are your friend!