Windows 7 Duke Nukem 3D Atomic

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by alfred01, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. alfred01

    alfred01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    77
    Hi. If you've played Duke Nukem 3D Atomic then I'm hoping you'll be able to answer a question for me. Is the keyboard configuration for action's like walking changable or is it fixed? For example, can I change from using the arrow keys to go forward and back to pressing the A key to go forward and the Z key to go back? Thank You if you can answer this question for me. I read through the manual but it says nothing about this.

    Thanks again, David
     
  2. zirkoni

    zirkoni Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    10
    How are you running the game? DOS?, DOSBox?, EDuke32?, XDuke?, something else?

    The original DOS version has a separate setup program (setup.exe or setmain.exe). There's an option to change the controls.
    If you are using a source port like EDuke32 or XDuke, there's an option to change the cotrols in one of the game menus.
     
  3. alfred01

    alfred01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    77
    I am using DOSBOX and have downloaded the game from GOG.com. Thanks for having a look zirkoni.

    David
     
  4. fugno

    fugno New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes you can remap your keys in the option menu. You can also download the EDUKE 32 and do away with dosbox.get it here EDuke32 • Duke3D for Windows, Linux and OS X
     
  5. alfred01

    alfred01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    77
    Thank You fugno. Only problem is that there is no option selection.
     
    #5 alfred01, Jul 30, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  6. zirkoni

    zirkoni Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    10
    DOS(Box): Setmain.exe -> Controller Setup -> Setup Keyboard
    setmain_000.

    Eduke32: Start the game -> Options -> Keyboard Setup
    eduke32 2011-07-31 12-41-13-21.

    XDuke: Start the game -> Options -> Setup Keyboard
    xDuke(v19.8) 2011.07.31 12h41m57s.

    I recommend you use EDuke32 for single player gaming and XDuke for multiplayer games.
    And if you want to play multiplayer games, install YANG and/or Meltdown.

    If you use EDuke32 you can also use the high resolution packs:
     
    #6 zirkoni, Jul 31, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2013
  7. alfred01

    alfred01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    77
    Thank You both for your help. Much appreciated.

    David
     

Share This Page

Loading...