Windows 10 Excel help

LT72884

Hello all. I have no programing knowledge at all. Yea, i have taken a single intro class to java but that dos not go well and that was years ago.

First, ill explain what o do have and it works.

In excel, i jave in column A1:A95 names of common materials such as aisi 1020 steel, alm 7025 t6, cold roled steel, carbon steel, etc. In columns B1:B95 are the associated densities in kg/cubic meter. Colmun C, is left for user input of volume depending on what material they want. Then column D just shows the density multiplied by volume to get mass. Example; A23 is water B23 is 1000 C23 i input 2, D23 output is 2000.

Ok, this works, but if i need a material that is 85 in the list, i have to go all the way the list, put in the value at C85 and then D85 is my mass.

What i would like is a drop down menu that says the name of the material and its density, then in another box, i type in volume and then in the third box, it displays mass.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-S920L using Tapatalk

You'll need a second sheet with a column of the material and the second column with the densities. Then the column you want the drop down select all the columns you want to have the menu and click 'Data Validation' and for the Allow change it to List. In the source field select and highlight all the materials from the second sheet. That will create the drop down menu.

For the densities column you will need the VLOOKUP function. The second column will be =VLOOKUP(A1,sheet2!A1:B30,FALSE)

Break down of the VLOOKUP, the first A1 is the value you are looking for so it will be the A# where # is the row you want it to match so the same row you are on. Sheet2! would be the second sheet sheet2 may be whatever you name the second sheet. A1:B30 will emcompass all the materials and densities on the second sheet. FALSE means exact match

Awesome. Thanks for that info. I will see if i can follow that. I have not used excel much or programmed at all.