GitFlow for Visual Studio

News

Extraordinary Robot
Robot
I know, I know... I've been highlighting a number of Git related extensions recently. And I know all of YOU are using Git already (just like I am... um... errr.... um... kind of... yeah).

Okay, fine, so I'm a Git noob. Right now Git continues to gain support, mindshare and seems to one of those things just about every Dev will need to learn. Like many of you, I'm trying to wrap my head around it, more importantly how to do it "right."

Sure creating a repo is easy, and the commit/push/pull/sync seems straight forward (well for my single person projects at least ;). But even there, what's the "right" way to layout the repo, what kinds branches, etc., etc.

Yeah, yeah, I know that there are many "right" ways. And everyone one have positives and negatives. But for me, I don't know what I don't know yet. I just need to start with a good "right" until I can make an intelligent call (no snarky comments from the peanut gallery please... ).

When I saw today's project, I found my first "right" way...

A successful Git branching model

In this post I present the development model that I’ve introduced for all of my projects (both at work and private) about a year ago, and which has turned out to be very successful. I’ve been meaning to write about it for a while now, but I’ve never really found the time to do so thoroughly, until now. I won’t talk about any of the projects’ details, merely about the branching strategy and release management.

Summary

While there is nothing really shocking new to this branching model, the “big picture” figure that this post began with has turned out to be tremendously useful in our projects. It forms an elegant mental model that is easy to comprehend and allows team members to develop a shared understanding of the branching and releasing processes.
Introducing GitFlow for Visual Studio