Home Premium 32 -> Home Premium 64?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Agent Data, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    Do I need to buy W7-HP again coz I got an OEM version running?
     
  2. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are you planning on "upgrading" your current machine to the 64bit version? If thats true, I dont think there should be a problem - from the licensing stand point. I'm not sure about actually installing it though - did your PC come with a 64bit version on the DVD? Or a key for x64?
     
  3. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    The PC has been upgraded from OEM Vista 32 including a "free" upgrade offer to Win7 32 (DVD) from Microsoft.

    Do I have any other option than buying Win7 again?
     
  4. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    You wont be able to upgrade from 32 to 64 - that needs to be a clean install anyways.

    Check this out:
    32-bit and 64-bit Windows: frequently asked questions

    I think you are stuck with purchasing a copy of Home Premium. :frown:

    Anyone else can feel free to chime in, but I think thats your option at this point.
     
  5. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes, that's what I was thinking!

    bit ridiculous to have OEM pay twice for the same copy of Win7 (just switching to 64 bit) while retail includes both versions on same disc.

    the catch is the upgrade offer was bound to the same bit version instead they should have offered people a choice for 64 bit - I was not aware of this condition until it was too late.
     
    #5 Agent Data, Feb 19, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2010
  6. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Actually the Retail Version comes with two discs.. One containing the 32-bit version of Windows 7 and one containing the 64-bit version of Windows 7.. ;)

    And yes, the above posters are correct, in you're situation you will have to purchase a copy of windows 7 to install the 64-bit version.. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...