Windows 7 howto full transparent window, not just bordar?

Discussion in 'Desktop Customization' started by tuhintt, May 23, 2010.

  1. tuhintt

    tuhintt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can see nice transparency (with border and body) when I open "Add gadgets windows". Why not all other window like "my computer"? is it possible to add bluer transparent to 'my computer' like gadgets window?
     
  2. Jaydon H

    Jaydon H New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only real way to have transparent windows is to download or install programs that have transparent windows by default. One of these is the Firefox 3.7 Alpha 4 Preview available for Windows. You can enable Aero Gass in this, so it is transparent. You can download it here. Other than that, it is up to an individual program to have transparency enabled. There may be some people online that have a transparent copy of Windows Explorer, so just ask for that more specifically.
     
  3. tuhintt

    tuhintt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank u.

    Thank u. is it possible to bluer transparent to explorer windows like my computer, drives... without any other apps?
     
  4. Jaydon H

    Jaydon H New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm afraid not, sorry. Just search the internet for programs that can do this, however.
     
  5. tuhintt

    tuhintt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tnanks,

    Thank u very much. Don't understand why Microsoft don't add this to all windows, only in gadget.
     
  6. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    With the standard windows API you can set your own level of transparency for any window (except 3d), 0 to 255. (Not like 'Add Gadgets' window though).



    [​IMG]



    TRANSPARENT.
     
    tuhintt and (deleted member) like this.
  7. tuhintt

    tuhintt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice to know,

    Thanks, nice to know it can be done without 3rd party software. Can u pls explain how to do window transparent using (0 - 255)? i love to know.
     
  8. Jaydon H

    Jaydon H New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    :O

    Now I've learned something!
     
  9. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    There is no way without doing some programing, e.g. ShowWindow Function (MSDN) or WinSet (autohotkey).


    Autohotkey (very easy to use, very popular):

    n=0
    !+t::
    WinGetActiveTitle, T
    if n=0
    {
    WinSet, Transparent, 222, %T%
    n=1
    Exit
    }
    WinSet, Transparent, Off, %T%
    n=0
    Exit

    It'll make your active window semitransparent (or whatever value you set 0-255) when you press Alt-Shift-t. If the active window is already transparent, it'll make it opaque.
     
  10. tuhintt

    tuhintt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.

    Thank u very much for ur info.
     
  11. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    You are welcome. : )
     
  12. magiccottage

    magiccottage New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    How please? I can set transparency on/off but cant see the other options.
     
  13. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    There is no GUI for it, you need to do some quick scripting. Try AutoHotkey, it's very easy: install it, write your program in Notepad, then save it as .ahk - and you can run it.


     

Share This Page

Loading...