I Want To Break a RAID 1 Set Into A Single Drive System? How?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by therock, Oct 10, 2013.

  1. therock

    therock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to remove one of the HDD's of my Raid 1 set converting it to a single drive system.
    Can I do this seamlessly without a format and reloading of everything?
    I need one of the drives elsewhere. I don't care about the data on it.

    Windows Seven Pro
    Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
    HDD's - Western Digital 750GB RE3
    The onboard Intel Raid

    Thanks!
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Every thing I've read on RAID 1, is for redundancy and that all the data is on both drives (2 copies). So if one drive fails, you can just hot swap the drive and it should rebuild the RAID automatically. So in theory it would seem what you're asking is possible. I'm no expert on RAID and never used it myself, so giving advice on the subject is rather moot. The only thing I can say is to try it, first create a system image (backup), then pull a drive and see. Good luck.
     
  3. therock

    therock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I want the RAID1 to be gone forever on this machine. Would be nice if its as simple as pulling one and letting the BIOS see it as a non-RAID system with no formatting or OS reload.
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Personally, If it were my setup, I would infact pull the drive and reformat it (on all the drives in the RAID), just for the piece of mind factor. You just don't know what will happen later on down the road with the data.
     
  5. therock

    therock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,
    I want to keep the system running like it is with just one of the drives, and use the other for something else. I am trying to find out if I can pull one without losing the system.
    Is it possible to go from a RTAID1 array to a single drive system with out formatting?
     

Share This Page

Loading...