IE8 64bit and IE8 32bit both installed?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by sssteve72, Jan 17, 2009.

  1. sssteve72

    sssteve72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never ran an OS that ws 64bit so maybe this is normal.
    I just noticed that I have both IE8 64bit and 32bit. I only noticed because i was running the task manager and I noticed the little *32 after ieexplorer.exe.

    I also noticed I have Internet Explorer and Internet Explorere (64-bit) under Start/All Programs.

    Does everyone have this and is this normal?
     
  2. BlackWolf

    BlackWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    9
    normal, at least I got the same thing on my vista 64 and windows7 64 so I guess it's alright
     
  3. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    this is normal in a x64 bit OS. if a process in running a x32 program then it puts the *32 next to it. on a 64 bit os both the 64 bit and 32 bit versions are available in case of compatibility issues.
     
    #3 iroken22, Jan 17, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  4. Moosetek13

    Moosetek13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    5
    One issue with 64-bit is there is no 64-bit Flash player available yet.
     
  5. sssteve72

    sssteve72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have discovered. You know, in about 5 years 64bit is going to be awesome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...