Internet Connectivity

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Networking' started by uwissy, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. uwissy

    uwissy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a Dell Studio XPS and have been unable to connect to my home wireless network. I've connected the laptop directly to the router and was able to get on the internet but I haven't been able to access the wireless. The router is working; as I am still able to use the wireless with my old Dell Inspiron and the Studio is able to detect the network being broadcast.

    When I try to ping the router, the request times out.

    Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Have you reset the router.

    What is the distance between the router an computer?

    Have you lost WEP/WPA key stored by Wireless Zero Configuration service

    Try this priogram
    WirelessNetView v1.26
     
  3. uwissy

    uwissy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. I've reset the router and the computer is 25 feet or so from the router. I haven't lost the key.

    I have a computer running xp that is able to pick up the signal. But my Dell Studio running Windows 7 does not think that the router is connected to the internet.

    I can get to the router's admin page from the Dell Studio; and the security mode is WPA2 Personal. Should I try changing that to WEP?
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Possible, dud this occur immediately after install or some time later?

    Dud you install any new software or make any major changes to you re computer?
     
  5. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    I have about 20 knows fixes for connection problems listed in the link in my tagline. Hope something can help your situation.
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    How about router firmware?

    And the make and model of your router?
     
  7. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    Have you tried going back to square 1 and setting up the whol wireless network again?
    Just in case:
    Conrol panel. (icon view) - Network and sharing centre - Set up a new connection or network - manuall connect to a wireless network.
     
  8. uwissy

    uwissy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It turned out to be a firmware issue. Thank you everyone for all of the suggestions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...