Joining Windows 7 to Domain

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by mrt731, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. mrt731

    mrt731 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Windows Server 2008 running in a virtual machine. And when I tried to add a Windows 7 Professional computer to the domain, I get a DNS error saying that an attempt to reach the DNS name and join my server has failed. I have successfully gotten 3 Windows XP machines (2 virtual and 1 physical) joined to this server but I am having problems with Windows 7. What am I doing wrong.

    More Info:
    Server is running in VMWare
    Also tried in Virtual PC with same error
     
  2. mrt731

    mrt731 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    come on. I need some help with this. Every other operating system joins just fine.
     
  3. elcaminojake

    elcaminojake New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar problem

    IDK try disabling ip6. Also disable bonjour services too. I don't have a link but, a reg find should locate it. I am dealing with the same thing here at work. We just got a win 7 machine, and It does not recognize the domain. It is weird though. I got it to find the other computers on the network, I can use my domain user/pass to comptete tasks but when i try and tell win 7 it is part of our domain it says that it can't find the domain. I am stumped anyone have a clue here??
     
  4. elcaminojake

    elcaminojake New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is also a Dnsrespoder or something like that you need to disable. For some reason those programs cause problems.
     
  5. mrt731

    mrt731 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No Soultion Yet

    I disabled ipv6 and bonjour is not running. Im just throwing it out there but on the services list, I cant get netlogon to start on the Windows 7 Machine. Anyone have a solution here?
     

Share This Page

Loading...