alphamattic

All right, folks, so here's the scoop. I set up a Windows domain at my home both for fun and for experience because I am a Systems and Network Administrator by trade which makes admitting that I am having this problem that much more embarrassing. But, in any event, everything worked fine when I had the domain running in my old house but I sold that and recently moved and then set up all my computers at my new house. Yet now, every time that I try to log into the domain I see a message that says “Domain not available”. I've manually set IPs all on the same subnet for all my computers and also set the first entry in the DNS fields to be my Domain Controller. As it stands now, I can ping the Domain Controller, I can remote into the Domain Controller and I have remoted into the Domain Controller and made sure that DNS is running. I've also made sure that there are SRV records in DNS, which is what I understand a computer looks for.When it's trying to determine which machine is the domain controller.But nothing I've done has worked.And before I go through the trouble of.Relearning everything I've forgotten about.Machines.We're setting up the network so that machines know.Which?Computer is a domain controller.I thought I would.Upon the collective brain power of the community.See if someone.Doesn't right off the top of their head.You know exactly what I forgot to do. Period.Thanks so much in advance for everyone's help.Matthew.

Hi Matthew,

I understand your frustration, but don't worry, we'll find a solution to your issue. From what you've described, it seems like you've taken the right steps so far in setting up your domain. However, there could be a few things we can check to troubleshoot the problem.