Windows 8 Microsoft Windows on Android Phones

Mike

Windows Forum Admin
Staff member
Premium Supporter

It's here! Well, sort of. Any version of Microsoft Windows can theoretically be accessed from your Android cell phone using the free TeamViewer for Control App. Using virtualization, you could go so far as to access Windows 95 on your cell phone. Find out why Windows just doesn't seem to play nice with these newer devices.

Check out my late night video demonstration on the subject. I am a 7x certified IT professional with an old (but relevant!) CompTIA A+ designation in Remote Support.

A couple minutes in this environment doesn't make it difficult to see why Microsoft is shying away from the desktop and moving entirely to the Start Screen. As the consumer use of smart phones and pads heats up and reaches all time highs, is Microsoft Windows 8 being solely released to tap into this market?

Here are some thoughts:

• Notice how big my hands are, compared to the "desktop".
  • It seems impossible to use this OS on handhelds.
  • EMS and other services have been using touch screens under Windows XP and Windows 7 with Quadro cards for a long time.
  • These touch-enabled systems used proprietary software applications with large dialogue buttons.
  • This software seems great if I need to find something urgently, but I wouldn't use it regularly. Would you?
  • I'll have to give it a go on Windows 8 CP, but I have a feeling that compatibility will be minimal. Does anyone want try?

I continue my discussion, observation, and muse as I delve into the far reaches of Windows 7 on Android using the free TeamViewer app… join me in this discussion, as I marvel at the advancements taking place in the form of the re-consolidation of centralized networking (cloud computing) and its effect on miniaturized consumer computing devices like smart phones and pads.