Windows 7 Mouse ceases to work properly when clicking buttons in applications

bilgebrain

I'm fairly new to W7, about 2 months, having migrated from XP to W7 (never experienced Vista). Quite frequently I encounter a problem with the mouse, in which it fails to (a) bring the auto-hidden taskbar into view, and (b) properly select functions normally controlled by button clicks. Problem arises once or twice a day on average.

As background info, the computer is in use pretty well all day everyday, mainly for work. I work freelance at home as an electronic designer. Being technical, I understand computers to a fair degree, from both hardware and software PoV, though I don't design things that work directly in conjunction with computers. I'm mainly concerned with embedded systems, both hardware and low-level software, and I don't write programs for running on computers (programming skill is confined to assembly language and embedded C).

As a typical example, I suddenly find I can't bring the taskbar into view by moving the mouse cursor to the bottom of the screen, in order to switch from a Word document I've been working on to find another document in Windows Explorer. So I use Alt-tab to switch to Explorer. But if I now open a new document (eg a pdf), I then have to use Alt-tab to return to the Word document.