No Ethernet Access with multiple providers

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by CS1234, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I would really like a hand with this.

    I am able to connect to the internet via WIFI, but I need to connect to the internet VIA the wired internet ( For ZOIP quality ). I had a great connection for a year, and now I can no longer connect. I am currently trying the internet at another building through a different provider and it is still not working. Running Windows 7 Premium on a laptop.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    When connected wired, what is the output from ipconfig /all
     
  3. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't connect wired.
     
  4. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    Plug in a network cable and open a command prompt and type ipconfig /all and post the output.
     
  5. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    C:\Users\Windows>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : -PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Netwo
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-4D-FE-59-87
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hitronhub.home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FA-B1-26-6A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82567LM Gigabit Network Conn
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-68-0A-79-5D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : fd00:bc4d:fb67:d572:5874:766e:72d7:87
    referred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00:bc4d:fb67:d572:fded:671:4bf0:d76
    eferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5874:766e:72d7:8791%11(Preferre
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889832
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1D-71-5B-1D-00-22-68-0A-7

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:568:ff09:10a::57
    2001:568:ff09:10b::57
    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hitronhub.home:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{34825861-D801-438E-93D2-91E048BE08D4}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{AD409941-93CB-4D09-9484-2CBAB76CB41B}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Windows>
     
  6. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    Looks fine, from a command prompt with the wired connected. Type ping google.com and post the output.
     
  7. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    This site can’t be reached
    The webpage at ping google.com - Google Search might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.

    ERR_QUIC_PROTOCOL_ERROR
     
  8. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    You need to type the command in a command prompt
     
  9. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    C:\Users\Windows>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Users\Windows>
     
  10. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help. Im disconnecting the WIFI everytime I do test, I hope that is right.
     
  11. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    Type
    ping 216.58.217.46
    and
    ping 192.168.1.1
    post output
     
  12. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    C:\Users\Windows>ping 216.58.217.46

    Pinging 216.58.217.46 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 216.58.217.46:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Windows>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Windows>
     
  13. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    Type arp -a and post the output
     
  14. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    C:\Users\Windows>arp -a

    Interface: 192.168.1.100 --- 0xb
    Internet Address Physical Address Type
    192.168.1.255 ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff static
    224.0.0.22 01-00-5e-00-00-16 static
    224.0.0.251 01-00-5e-00-00-fb static
    224.0.0.252 01-00-5e-00-00-fc static
    239.255.255.250 01-00-5e-7f-ff-fa static

    C:\Users\Windows>
     
  15. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    So there is your issue. You don't have a hardware address for your gateway in the arp table.
     
  16. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    366
    From the ipconfig /all output. This is your root cause
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Click on the Start button
    Control Panel
    Network and sharing center
    Change Adapter Settings
    Right click on the Ethernet Adapter and select Properties
    Click on Internet Protocol Version 4 and click properties
    The top section click the radio button "Automatically obtain an IP address"
    Change DNS to automatic too
    Click OK
     
    CS1234 likes this.
  17. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I feel like swearing. Im so excited! Its working. I have internet!
     
  18. CS1234

    CS1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    SOLVED.
    Thank you so much. So much appretiated you taking your time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...