Not able to ping by name but no problem by ip

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by geo77, Jun 7, 2014.

  1. geo77

    geo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,
    I have a small workgroup that I am able to ping machines by ipaddress, but can't seem to be able to ping by machine name. I have even installed a WINS server and added it to my dhcp configuration.
    What is really weird is that if I do a nbtstat -A 192.168.1.xx I get the name of the machine, but when I got and try to ping by the name that was returned, I get the host not found error message.

    Thanks for any help in advance.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Are all machines members of the same workgroup with no duplications of netbios names.
    Have you got the computer browser service running everywhere and is netbios over tcp/ip enabled? (IPv4 properties advanced button, Wins tab, in the properties of the network adapter you're using)
    And the TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper Service in services.msc
     
  3. geo77

    geo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    All computers are part of the workgroup, no duplication of netbios names exist.
    Netbios over tcp/ip is enabled.
     
    #3 geo77, Jun 7, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2014
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Then my suspicions would fall on some third part software security suite on one or more of the problem machines inhibiting the propagation of netbios data and or the network infrastructure to support netbios communication (ports and protocols).
    My suggestion would be to uninstall any and all such software from the network nodes and rely on the native Windows options regarding antivirus, antimalware and firewall bits for now. Even going so far to track down and run the vendor specific proprietary removal tools that most top tier security suites offer through their websites.
     
  5. geo77

    geo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I have unistalled disabled all firewalls/antivirus that I had set up for each machine, still the same symptom. One thing that I found curous, is that when I chose Home network as the typ of network, I can ping that machine at least via ipadress,but if I select the Work option I can't ping it, why is that?

    Still in either case, I get nothing back if I ping via name.
     
  6. hoaasb

    hoaasb Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if you aware of this but you need to identify the names with the IP addresses in the C:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/hosts file on the machine you are trying to ping from. Use Wordpad or simular to edit the file and at the bottom add the machine and IP address ie...;
    192.168.1.229 Server1

    I hope this helps
     
  7. geo77

    geo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello hoassb,
    That is actually what I am doing as a work around at the moment, however it becomes really unpractical, when you have to manage over ten machines..

    Thanks for the suggestion though..
     
  8. hoaasb

    hoaasb Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a central server? if you do you can have all the machines look to the same place.
    edit C:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/lmhosts.sam file. You can read through it and the examples describe how to set it up.
     
  9. geo77

    geo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have a central server, but I was trying to get this to work with a WINS server, (not sure if wins is even a good solution, since it is old technology) but at least it will give me the ability to have a back up WINS server in case of failure.

    In any case, I would like to get this workgroup setup properly so I can ping by name.
     
    #9 geo77, Jun 11, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2014
  10. kd833

    kd833 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Retrace your process from the beginning. I would take two of the PCs in the network and set one up as the Computer Browser host and the other as the client. Make sure you have then both on the same subnet, sharing options set to "Work/Home", firewall should be on, netbios settings to default, disable lmhosts for now, comment out the hosts file settings (because you want the client name to be found through netbios not hosts file). Remove the WINS server from the network. Reboot the the machines and test ping by address and name. Test nbtstat by address and name. If it all works, add the other machines. In the end, add the WINS server and modify the lmhosts configuration for your machines and retest. Somewhere along the line you might discover what went wrong if you can reproduce it. Last, you might have an issue with your dhcp server. Is your dhcp server another PCs or working through a router/switch.
     

Share This Page

Loading...