remote desktop connection win 7 home

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Jerry McCallum, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. Jerry McCallum

    Jerry McCallum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    why cant i see the home button on the pc i connect to?
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    What is "the home button" and where is it in respect to what you are seeing in your remote desktop window.
    If you are talking about the "Windows 7 Start Orb", are there scroll bars present in the RDP window, are you running in a window or full screen mode?
    It may be an issue with the screen resolution on the remote machine vs. your machines resolution. You may need to experiment a bit to get it just right.
     
  3. Jerry McCallum

    Jerry McCallum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    ty sorted
    just one more. is there a way so i can see what is on my pc2
    hang on
    pc1 is win 7 pro
    pc2 is win 7 home prem
    i use pc 2 to connect to pc 1
    when i do it logs off user on pc 1
    is there a way to use pc2 to connect to pc1 and keep the screen up
    instead of going to log on screen.
    ie wwe see the same so i can show the pc1 use how to do things?
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Short answer is No.
    What your are descirbing (shadowing a console session) is not supported in the environment you have described above.
    However; there are many third party software products that will do this quite well.
    I personnaly use TeamViewer which is available for free for personal non-commercial use.
    Other suggest that CrossLoop is a good option. There are several that will do the same thing you just need to decide which one you prefer.
    For a paid commercial use version I highly recommend GoToAssist Express by Citrix there is a 30 day trial. I have personally used this and like it a lot but it is kinda pricey, unless you are doing a lot of remote support that you can recoup the expense.
     
  5. Jerry McCallum

    Jerry McCallum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do have team viewer and i am using it. just wondered if there was another way. ty for the help
     

Share This Page

Loading...