resolution problems

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by Herman, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. Herman

    Herman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Benq e2200 hd monitor running on a geeforce 8600 gt card.. it is conected with a dvi to vga adapter. My problem is that windows 7 seems to think i have a 4:3 monitor, because I can only choose from 4:3 resolutions. The highest resolution I can choose is the 1600 * 1200, when the highest for my screen is 1920 * 1080. Is there a solution to this problem ?
     
  2. ScottsXJ

    ScottsXJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you running the Windows Se7en beta graphic drivers for nVidia?
     
  3. Herman

    Herman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running the driver that automaticly comes with windows update, I think thats the beta. I have the 64bit version of Windows.
     
  4. ScottsXJ

    ScottsXJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try downloading this updated version straight from nVidia's website here.
     
  5. Herman

    Herman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It didnt fix anything.
     
  6. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    Have you tried going to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Display\Screen Resolution and checking if you can set the resolution higher there. If it doesn't show you your 1920 x1080, go into the advanced properties, click on the monitor tab and uncheck the the box which hides resolutions that the monitor cannot display - it might then allow you to go higher. Failing that, then you might have to wait for a later driver.
     
  7. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    #7 davehc, Apr 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 22, 2009
  8. Herman

    Herman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    nothing worked, but thx for trying to help me !
     
  9. cmn

    cmn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    45
    Have you already tried to Install the BenQ Monitor driver (VISTA) for BenQ e2200 HD Monitor in this PC and then see if you could get maximum resolution?
     
  10. Herman

    Herman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont think it exists a driver for this monitor. cant find it anywhere on the internet.
     
  11. cmn

    cmn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    45
    I am aware that the BenQ Download site has a misleading link that goes only to a PDF file! But I guess they have an FTP server from which you can download drivers. I have to look for the URL and if and when I find , I will post it to the Forum to this thread. In the mean time, you may seek their tech support for help and the guys there might give you the site address for download. Good luck.

    Just located the webaddress for the driver:

    ftp://211.78.86.210/monitor/lcd/drivers/e2200hd/lcd_monitor_dr_e2200hd_20080811_152551_e2200hd1.zip
     
    #11 cmn, Apr 22, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2009
  12. Herman

    Herman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx a lot. Will test it when I get home. Will tell you if it works. I actually called Benq support and they said there were no drivers.

    It worked. No more stretched images :D thx.
     
    #12 Herman, Apr 23, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...