Security Essentials

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by jimlau, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. jimlau

    jimlau Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    does Windows 7 Pro have Security Essentials in it? I notice on downloads files are scanned, tho not sure what does it.

    Thanks.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  3. jimlau

    jimlau Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks. i think i got a quick message while on-line saying my computer was infected, and i think it was said in a microsoft essentials window. not dure if it was legit or not. if i scan with defender and find nothing, as well as with malwarebytes and kaspersky, any need to try with essentials?
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hmm usually malwarebytes will catch anything if it's there.. I'd upgrade to MSE anyway, it's better than Defender and coupled with Malwarebytes it's the best set up (ant-virus wise), that's free, around.
     
  5. jaydeee

    jaydeee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    for Home version I agree that you have to download it which is available via windows update.
    Even its free I still go with Avast and Malwarebytes. :)
     
  6. iftieaq

    iftieaq Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use windows defender. It's best.
     

Share This Page

Loading...