Snipping Tool

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by seekermeister, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    It's funny how it is the small things that you miss most when returning to an older OS. Apparently, it's not possible to install the Snipping Tool from MS on XP, so I have been Googling some for an alternative. However on everything that I have found so far, those alternative apps fall short of performing like the W7 version. Also some are bundled with a bunch of other software, brand the screenshots or publish them on the internet.

    Does anyone know of a method or app that is free that works like W7's Snipping Tool?
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
  3. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Thanks, but I'm not inclined to spend $49.95 for Snagit.
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
  5. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Install Picpick, free version.
    It is " poor man's version of SnagIt ".
    I have both SnagIt and Picpick, and most of the time, I use Picpick.
    Picpick has 2 versions, one is a paid "commercial " version and one is a free home-use version.
    I have the free version. It works great.
    http://www.picpick.org/en/
     
  6. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    davidhk129,
    I've been tinkering with this some, but I think it will take a little time to get used to this. I think that I figured out how to capture a selected portion of the screen, but not how to use the other features very well. For instance, highlighting. Instead of highlighting a straight line, or inserting an arrow, it seems to only highlight a rectangular area, and as far as I have yet found, the highlight color is only yellow. Is there greater flexibility in highlighting than this?
     
  7. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Give me a few minutes. I'll be back.
     
  8. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Hope you understand what I am trying to illustrate..............

    picpick ribbon. picpick.
     
  9. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Okay, I was playing around with this some more between posts, and I think that I found what you are pointing to, but I'm still trying to learn to use it properly. I think I will get the hang of it eventually. It should definitely serve the purpose on my XP machine though.

    While I figured out how to draw a colored line, the one thing I think is lacking is the ability to insert an arrow. Not absolutely necessary, but it would give a bit more polish to a capture. In any case, I appreciate your help.
     
  10. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    What do you mean by " to insert an arrow "?
    Please explain.

    My " inserting arrow " illustration is not what you meant?
     
  11. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Sorry, I had missed that. Yes, that should work fine.
     
  12. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Ok. You are welcome.
    Have fun using Picpick.
    P.S. periodically, you will be notified to update the program. It is always free.
     
  13. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    If I remember, it had the option to check for updates automatically during the installation, which I didn't choose...if memory serves. That is something that I do with most programs, even though it might be more convenient to let it do so.
     
  14. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I am using Printkey2000 for both Win 7 and Win 8. It's a portable app (no need to install). Try it. I attached it here.

    Tip: if you want to capture a portion of your screen, use the RECTANGLE mode and then save it as jpeg or print it right away.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    My setup is to notify me for update.

    Open Picpick > File > Program options > About > under Preference > Check for program updates > OK.
     
  16. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Not too sure, because the moment that I extracted it from the zip, Secunia PSI squawked that it had been discontinued, and at end of life. That may not be too much of an issue, except that I don't like PSI continually squawking and not scoring the system in the green.
     
  17. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Not sure, because with that enabled, it still keeps calling home.
     
  18. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Up to you. Just trying to help you out. It's a portable app. It won't get installed in your system. All of the screenshots I posted here, even my sig below was captured on that app.

    XP is discontinued. But people still use it. Even Win 8 has no problem with it. It has a very simple interface, too.
     
    #18 badrobot, Sep 22, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2013
  19. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    I don't understand you.
    What do you mean " it still keeps calling home "

    I have been using that setup since first day I installed it. I don't have any " calling home " incidents.
     
  20. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Checking for updates can only be done by calling home. Of course, that is true when you check manually, but as far as I could find, the program doesn't have the option to check manually anyway. Perhaps Secunia PSI will keep it up to date...I don't know.
     

Share This Page

Loading...