W7 no longer boots after restored from Clonezilla image

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Winfried, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. Winfried

    Winfried Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [SOLVED] W7 no longer boots after restored from Clonezilla image

    Hello

    After restoring an image made with Clonezilla that used to work, Windows 7 is unable to start. When prompted, I used the DVD, but it still fails with "Startup Repair could not detect a problem".

    When rebooting, it says "Windows Error Recovery: Launch Startup Repair (recommended) and Start Windows Normally": Launch Startup Repair fails with "Windows Boot Manager: 0xc000000e The Boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible".

    FWIW, to investigate, I deleted both partitions (#1 to hold the OS, #2 to hold images) and re-created them with enough space to hold (#1 was made a bit bigger because I didn't know how to specify infos in cfdisk accurately), and Clonezilla happily restored the image.

    Does someone know what it could be, and what to try?

    Thank you.
     
    #1 Winfried, Aug 30, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2011
  2. Winfried

    Winfried Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    More information:

    Using the Command Prompt Recovery Console off of the Vista DVD, I ran the command:


    CMD> bootrec /rebuildbcd


    "Successfully scanned Windows installations.
    Total identified Windows installations: 0
    The operation completed successfully"


    "bcdedit /enum" displays "identifier {bootmanager}" and "identifier {default}"


    bcdedit /set {default} device partition=c:
    "The operation completed successfully."


    bcdedit /set {default} osdevice partition=c:
    "The operation completed successfully."


    bcdedit /set {bootmgr} device partition=c:
    "The operation completed successfully."


    bcdedit /set {ntldr} device partition=c:
    "An error occured while attempting to reference the specified entry. The system cannot find the file specified."

    Rebooted, still getting error 0xc000000e.
     
  3. Winfried

    Winfried Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    More information: I could successfully restore XPSP3, although it went through a CHKDSK before rebooting successfully.

    Next, I tried to restore W7, but still get the "Windows Error Recover" message.

    So it looks like a Windows7-specific issue.
     
  4. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    The use of Clonezilla is anything but simple. If you created the image improperly, you are in a pickle:
    How to Properly Clone a Windows 7 System Partition with Clonezilla « RandomScrawls

    I suggest you use Acronis Backup software for data backup and disaster recovery in Windows and Linux - Acronis or if you want to save a few dollars, use a great free one (my personal favorite) called Easeus ToDo Backup Free Backup Software for home users. Hard Drive System Backup and Restore in Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7.
     
  5. Winfried

    Winfried Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tip. I reinstalled W7 from scratch, and noticed that it creates two partitions, where #1 is about 100MB and seems to hold the boot loader. The original image was of /dev/sda1 and restored OK, so I don't understand why I now have to save two partitions. Does someone know if it's possible to have Windows7 on a single partition?

    Also, should I run the sysrep commands ("Sysprep /Generalized /OOBE /Shutdown", and "Sysprep /Generalized /AUDIT /Shutdown") before making an image?

    Thank you.
     
  6. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    You are welcome.
    Like I said, Clonezilla is not simple. I read in their site that it won't work on drives with partitions, so if your drive has a 100\200MB partition for system\backup files, you can't use it. That's how I understood it. Use one of the programs I suggested to make your images. They are better than Norton Ghost.
     
  7. Winfried

    Winfried Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info. I'm used to using Clonezilla, which being ncurses-based, isn't as user-friendly as Windows equivalent like Easeus ToDo Backup, which I'll try too to see how it works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...