Windows 8 Windows phone, Nokia Lumia 635, unable to set up email

Pollywotsit

Brand new phone out of the box yesterday.Virgin Media is my provider, phone is on O2. Trying to set my NTL world email up with no success, I just get a message saying it needs attention. Spent the morning online with O2. no success, this afternoon was with Virgin, no success, they pointed me in Windows direction who replied I MIGHT find the answer on here...at the moment I'm thinking of sending the phone back, any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated........I'M NOT A TECHIE! Thank you -Polly

Trying to set my NTL world email up
Not familiar with that particular email host. Is it a normal IMAP provider or is it strictly pop3 / smtp?
Do you have a Gmail or Microsoft (outlook.com or Hotmail.com) account? Have you tried to set either of those up?
Maybe that would at least narrow it down and you could determine if the problem is the phone, the app or the email host.

EDIT: Additionally, when you get a new phone it very much like getting a new computer, you want to make sure that you have all the latest updates.
OTA Firmware from the carrier, any updates for your Windows version and also the Store may have updates as well for the various apps, including "mail"

Hi, it's pop3 etc...sorry before Richard Branson bought it out and changed it to Virgin Media, it was ntlworld ....you could change the email to Virgin or keep the old one, I chose to keep it. Yes I have gmail account, that set up in 2 minutes, no problem but I used that for a PSP course ...all my contacts have my NTL world addy. The helpline at O2 old me to take it to the O2 shop to get the settings checked, annoying because I'm some miles away! Everything else seems to be working fine...just this problem
Just had to google OTA Firmware.....never heard of that, as I said am not a techie. Annoying to be told to take it to the shop though...
thank you for your reply....hate to give up!