A gold-accented handheld gaming console displays a fantasy landscape beside its packaging and a calendar marked 15.
Some headlines are saying ASUS's 20th-anniversary Xbox handheld has "launched." It hasn't, at least not yet. What actually happened is that the China-market version of the ROG XBOX Ally X20 was listed on e-commerce platforms for reservation. Sales begin October 15, the same date ASUS gave for the United States. If you want one, there's still time to check your bank balance. You may need it.

The China listing uses the local name "ROG XBOX Handheld X 20th Anniversary Edition." Some reports have mistranslated the name as "ROG Xbox Series X," which is wrong. This is not a new Xbox console. ASUS's official specifications describe it as a gaming handheld PC running Windows 11 Home, so it falls into the same category as the ROG Ally family, the Steam Deck and similar devices.

What's actually on sale, and when​

ASUS started this process in August. It announced U.S. preorders on August 25, 2026, saying that the ROG XBOX Ally X20 will be on-shelf starting on October 15. China followed about a month later. Chinese outlet IT Home reported on September 25 that the China-market edition was listed on e-commerce platforms with a sale date of October 15. The Expreview report behind these headlines gives the same date, with sales opening at 10:00 AM.

Prices vary a lot by market:

MarketStandalone X20Anniversary bundle
China (reported via JD.com listings)9,999 yuan18,999 yuan
United States$1,299.99$2,499.99
United Kingdom£1,299Not stated
CanadaC$1,899Not stated

The U.S. figures come from Windows Central, which reported that customers can now pre-order the ROG Xbox Ally X20 standalone model for $1,299.99 MSRP, while the fully loaded ROG Xbox Ally X20 Bundle is priced at $2,499.99 MSRP. The UK and Canadian prices come from Softonic, which reported that the standalone version costs $1,299.99 in the US, £1,299 in the UK, and C$1,899 in Canada. ASUS also warns that final pricing and availability may vary depending on the region and local market.

Summary: Reservations and preorders are open. Retail sales start October 15. Anyone saying you can buy one off the shelf today is getting ahead of the calendar.

The hardware: a new screen on the same chip​

The core specs match across the U.S. and China versions:

  • Processor: AMD Ryzen AI Z2 Extreme with 8 cores and 16 threads, boosting up to 5.0 GHz. ASUS rates the NPU at up to 50 TOPS.
  • Memory: 24 GB LPDDR5X-8000
  • Storage: 1 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD in the full-length M.2 2280 size
  • Display: 7.4-inch 1920×1080 OLED, 120 Hz, 600 nits SDR and 1,400 nits peak HDR, VESA DisplayHDR True Black 1400, Dolby Vision, FreeSync Premium Pro with 30–120 Hz VRR, and a DXC anti-reflection coating
  • Battery: 80 Wh
  • Ports: one USB4 port (Thunderbolt 4 compatible, DisplayPort 2.1, Power Delivery 3.0), one USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C port, a microSD Express reader and a 3.5 mm audio jack
  • Wireless: Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.4
  • Weight: 756 g
  • Security: Microsoft Pluton security processor and a fingerprint sensor

The most important point for buyers is that the chip hasn't changed. The Gadgeteer noted that its Ryzen AI Z2 Extreme processor, 24GB of memory, 1TB SSD, and 80Wh battery are also found in the existing ROG Xbox Ally X. The site concluded that the reasons to consider the X20 are its new display, controls, cooling changes, and anniversary design, not a new chip.

Expreview's report says the X20 "easily" runs popular AAA games. Take that as marketing. No independent benchmarks have been published, and since the silicon is the same, you should expect roughly Ally X-class performance, not a big jump. The ROG Ally Life fan site said the same thing, observing that because the APU is unchanged, every ROG Xbox Ally X game settings guide on this site applies to the X20 as-is. Same TDP tiers, same FPS targets, same VRAM recommendations.

That makes the price question simple. According to ROG Ally Life, the standalone X20 is $300 more than the ROG Xbox Ally X at $999.99 and $700 more than the base ROG Xbox Ally. In effect, the extra $300 buys a bigger OLED screen, better controls, reworked cooling and a see-through shell.

Summary: This is a refresh. The screen is new and the chip isn't.

The upgrades ASUS is actually selling​

The display. ROG Ally Life reports that the X20 moves to a 7.4-inch 1080p 120Hz OLED, up from the 7-inch LCD on the Ally X. OLED gives you true blacks and very high contrast. It also means you'll want to keep burn-in in mind if you leave static game menus or HUDs on screen for long periods. That's a general OLED consideration, not a known X20 problem.

Controls. The joysticks use TMR (tunnel magnetoresistance) sensors. IT Home, citing ASUS's claims, says they have a dead zone of about 3%, better diagonal input and a lower chance of stick drift. The D-pad switches between 4-way and 8-way modes: according to IT Home, you lift it slightly and rotate it about 90 degrees. The triggers are Hall-effect analog triggers with impulse rumble. These figures come from ASUS, not independent testing.

Design. ASUS describes the look as a translucent black chassis with a vibrant gold internal structure. It's a clear nod to the see-through gadgets of the early 2000s, and it lets you see the cooling system inside. The edition celebrates the founding of Republic of Gamers in 2006.

Software. IT Home reports that the China edition uses the Xbox full-screen experience. It also says Armoury Crate SE is built into Xbox Game Bar, so pressing the Xbox button opens performance monitoring, captures and settings. The U.S. specification page lists a two-month Xbox Game Pass Premium offer. ASUS says eligibility and the game catalog depend on your market, so don't count on it being available everywhere.

Storage upgrades and a China-specific warranty claim​

The SSD uses the standard M.2 2280 size instead of the shorter 2230 drives common in handhelds. That gives upgraders many more drive options. ASUS's U.S. announcement calls it ready to play anywhere and describes the 2280 slot as intended for "easier upgrade."

IT Home adds one more claim for the China version. It says the device has a light sensor that cuts power when the back cover is opened, and that replacing the SSD does not affect the warranty. That claim is reported for the China market only. The U.S. sources reviewed here don't confirm it, so check your local warranty terms before you pick up a screwdriver.

The bundle: AR glasses and a Pelican case​

The premium bundle adds the ROG XREAL R1 Edition 20 AR glasses plus accessories. ASUS says the accessories include a dbrand Killswitch case with a kickstand, a custom skin, joystick covers, and a custom Protector Case from Pelican, sporting red ROG latches and the exclusive 20th anniversary badge. IT Home describes similar contents for the China bundle, including a travel cover.

The glasses plug directly into the XBOX Ally X20 with a single USB Type-C® cable for an ultra-simple setup. ASUS advertises a 171-inch virtual screen at four meters, Sony micro-OLED panels and a 240 Hz mode with Frame Rate Boost turned on. In the U.S. the glasses are also sold separately. ASUS said the ROG XREAL R1 Edition 20 Gaming AR Glasses standalone is available for $799.

That math is worth doing. At U.S. prices, the handheld ($1,299) plus the glasses ($799) comes to $2,098. The $2,499 bundle therefore charges about $400 for the dbrand kit, the Pelican case and the collectible packaging. One note on the charger: ASUS says whether a charger comes with the standalone unit varies by country and model. The U.S. bundle lists a 68 W adapter.

Who should buy one?​

  • Current ROG Xbox Ally X owners: You get the same performance. Upgrade only if the OLED screen and the new controls are worth several hundred dollars to you.
  • LCD handheld owners who care about the screen: This is the strongest case for the X20. A 7.4-inch HDR OLED is a real upgrade.
  • Collectors: The bundle is aimed squarely at you. The Pelican case with ROG latches only makes sense if you plan to show it off.
  • Anyone watching their budget: At 9,999 yuan or $1,299, this sits at the top of the Windows handheld market. Wait for independent reviews after October 15, especially on thermals and battery life with the brighter screen.

Summary: The ROG XBOX Ally X20 is a Windows 11 handheld with a limited-edition look, a much better screen and the same chip as the Ally X. In China, reservations are open at 9,999 yuan for the handheld and 18,999 yuan for the bundle. U.S. preorders have been open since August. Sales start October 15 in both markets.


Update: Malaysia gets 30 anniversary bundles at RM10,999 (October 2, 2026)​

According to KLGadgetGuy, ASUS has confirmed Malaysian pricing and preorder arrangements for the ROG Xbox Ally X20 Bundle: RM10,999, with nationwide preorders opening at 8pm local time on October 2, 2026. The outlet reports that only 30 sets are allocated to Malaysia, with the preorder window scheduled to run through October 15. That adds a tightly limited Malaysian allocation to the previously reported regional availability; it does not establish that Malaysian retail sales have already begun.

KLGadgetGuy also reports two Malaysian preorder incentives for purchases made between October 2 and October 15: a ROG Ally Limited Edition Loot Box and a purchase-with-purchase promotion offering 20% off selected ROG gaming gear. Buyers should distinguish that conditional accessory discount from a reduction in the bundle’s RM10,999 price.

For buyers interested only in the Windows handheld, KLGadgetGuy says ASUS will announce the standalone Malaysian model separately. Its local price remains unannounced in this report, so waiting would allow a direct comparison before committing to the collector’s bundle.

 

References

  1. ROG Xbox Ally X20 Bundle Malaysia: RM10,999 - KLGadgetGuy KLGadgetGuy 2026-10-02T06:58:02+00:00
  2. ROG XBOX 20th Anniversary Edition Handheld Console Launched - expreview.com expreview.com Mon, 28 Sep 2026 04:18:48 GMT
  3. ROG Xbox Ally X20 Pre-Orders Open for 20th Anniversary asus.com