32 bit v 64 bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by qavorq, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    like I said, I dont know much about the chip, Im only going on what Ive read, which basically said that the Pentium D handles x64 poorly.
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    @ TheIgster, glad to hear it.
     
  3. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! Appreciate it. And so does the wife...;)
     
  4. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    Well the Core series chips are based on the Xeon 64bit cpus so they are native 64bit for definate.
     
  5. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, for anyone with a Pentium D chip, just FYI, we were still having problems with the 32-bit install of 7. I finally started taking some other things out of the equation, such as the new RAM I bought for the upgrade as well as the video card. I changed out the new RAM for the old RAM she had in there and 32-bit ran without any issues. Obviously there was an issue with one of the simms.

    Knowing that I couldn't run the 64-bit with only 1GB of RAM (what she had in old RAM), I went out and bought two new 2GB simms and put them in and reloaded 64-bit (build 7229 - which is what I have on my machine). It's been running now for a day and a half with no issues.

    So, bottom line, Pentium D CAN run 64-bit. All along this was a RAM issue...:(
     
  6. strumpet

    strumpet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been a long time lurker here, but I thought I should post and clear up some issues as my current job is ensuring 64 bit software compatibility across a large corporate network in the UK. If you have any specific questions let me know and I will do my best to answer them.

    First of all, to check that your CPU is x64 capable there is a handy utility from VMWare which does just that (for both Linux and Windows).

    Or, you can look up your CPU on the 64 bit wikipedia entry which I help maintain. It contains lots of useful information on the technical changes in x64 and is worth reading if you are interested in this sort of thing ;)

    There is a useful guide to how you should decide between 32 and 64 bit versions of Windows 7 which I agree with. But I would also add that it is at least worth trying x64 Windows 7 RC if your system is capable of it, as you can always swap back to 32 bit later when you need to do a full re-install anyway.

    If you have any questions about software compatibility do let me know and I will try to help.
     
  7. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    32-bit is good if you have less than 3GB RAM. If you have over 4GB RAM, you should install a 64-bit operating system (providing you have a decent processor and RAM).
     

Share This Page

Loading...