32 bit v 64 bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by qavorq, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. qavorq

    qavorq Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive never used a 64bit OS before. I was just wondering what advantages it might give me over a 32 bit system? Im running an Intel Pentium D 3Ghz dual core duo so as far as I know I should be able to run the 64bit version right?
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    The main advantage is that you can use more than 3.5 GB of RAM. You have only 2, so I would not go out and do a clean install just to get x64. Assuming your CPU does support x64, if you were to buy more RAM in the future, I would recommend installing a x64 OS. Maybe try it out on another drive or partition first.
     
  3. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    Pentium D is not 64bit its 2x32bit sandwiched which on paper sounds 64bit but it is merely dual core 32bit...so wont run 64bit OS.
     
  4. qavorq

    qavorq Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Highwayman for the info. I guess I shall have to look into what chips are 64 bit.
     
  5. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Almost all current cpu's are 64-bit compatible.. To add to what loathe said regarding the advantages, you'll see things like huge performance gains and an exponential leap forward in efficiency (just to mention a couple) as more and more apps and games start to take full advantage of the 64-bit architecture.. :) If you Wiki 64-bit you'll find all kinds of info on it as well.. ;)
     
  6. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    Multi-tasking is where 64bit really shines
     
  7. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    I started on x64 a couple years back and have not onced looked back.
     
  8. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    My wife's system is a Pentium D and it states it is 64-bit compatible.
     
  9. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    AFAIK the Pentium D range is 2 x x86 and can read and understand x64, but is not x64 native, meaning you will only get half the performance as it has to pass through the core twice, which may account for your lockups?

    To the OP, I misread your post and thought you said you had a Core 2 Duo. Your best bet would be to stay with x86
     
  10. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    #10 TheIgster, Jun 10, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2009
  11. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    I dont know a lot about the chip, back then I was jamming an Athlon, but yeh the Pentium D range can all support x64, it just takes twice as long to do everything.
     
    #11 loathe, Jun 10, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2009
  12. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I didn't say it would be fast...;)

    I just want it to run without freezing or crashing and without me having to buy two different copies of 7.
     
  13. qavorq

    qavorq Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so there is a difference of opinion as to whether the Pentium D is capable of 64bit. That may not be such a big issue as I intend to replace my chip later this year anyway. So if I've got this right - putting the 'D' aside - if I want to go over to true 64bit then I should be looking at what? A core 2 duo?
     
  14. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    Hmmm I'd still maybe contact them to be sure, far as I recall the Pentium D & Prescott range merely allowed 64bit extentions virtually over 32bit path......
     
  15. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    It'll be the same as it was when Vista was released.. If you buy Windows 7 Professional (for example) (which comes with the 32-bit media only) than you'll be able to order the 64-bit media and only have to pay for the shipping, which varies depending on your location. If you buy Windows 7 Ultimate you'll get both the 32-bit and 64-bit media as both come in the package... :)
     
  16. qavorq

    qavorq Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    are there any retail prices available yet? (preferably for the UK).
     
  17. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Nothing has been officially announced yet for Retail Pricing.. There have been some upgrade prices flying around but I'd believe the finalized official report from Microsoft as far as pricing goes.. ;)
     
  18. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seriously?

    This would be sweet. Sure hope so.
     
  19. Josh the Nerd

    Josh the Nerd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'd like to see a source saying Pentium D is any way less 64-bit than Core 2. Intel says Pentium D supports Intel 64. The Wikipedia articles on Pentium D, Core 2, and x86-64 say nothing about Core 2 being 64-bit in a different sense than Pentium D.

    Either way, you would just need to buy Windows 7 once, then fill out the order form for the 64-bit DVD and pay shipping and handling. You would get the 32-bit DVD in the box, but I'm sure you wouldn't need that at all to run the 64-bit version.
     
  20. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I'm thinking 64-bit was the problem because 7100 32-bit is running smooth on her system. Go figure.
     

Share This Page

Loading...