Added New HD, now Win 7 won't boot

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by mhjeff, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. mhjeff

    mhjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I had everything running great in win 7 rc, then I decided to add in a new HD and win 7 would not boot.
    So I put everything back the way it was, and win 7 still won't boot.

    I have 2 500GB SATA Intel Matrix RAID set I created when I first installed win 7. The RAID set comprises 2 partitions. The first partition C: drive contains my OS and other supporting files and the other partition D: has other files and stuff. I also have another stand alone 160GB SATA drive E: which was currently empty.
    So the boot order in my BIOS was:
    RAID Volume 1
    RAID Volume 2
    SATA 160GB

    What I did was simply hook up an 80GB IDE drive that was already installed in my computer. The jumper is set to Master and I went into the BIOS to make sure the drives were in the correct boot order since adding the IDE drive automatically sets that drive as the first HD.
    So I configured my drives in the BIOS as this:
    RAID Volume 1
    RAID Volume 2
    SATA 160GB
    IDE 80GB

    After configuring the BIOS and restarting I get a message something like (paraphrasing):
    "Boot Media Not Detected
    Insert proper boot media and press any key to continue:"

    Just pressing a key brings up the same message.

    So I decided to disconnect the IDE drive and set up the BIOS the way it was before I tried to hook up the IDE.
    Well I don't understand what's happening, but I keep getting that message. And I can't boot into windows as before.

    Anybody know what's going on?
     
  2. mhjeff

    mhjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I all alone here?
    There isn't a single sole on this board that has had any issues like this?
    What's up with this place?
     
  3. PcBoyGeorge

    PcBoyGeorge Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    5
    All i know is that your windows 7 is corrupted and wiped or your hard drive is corrupted and wiped.
     
  4. owenspal

    owenspal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like the drive your os is on is not set "active". the drive/partion that is currently active has no bootable os.
     
  5. mhjeff

    mhjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    What would cause it to suddenly stop being set to active?
     
  6. owenspal

    owenspal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Happened when you added/removed the 80 gb ide drive. You'll need a partition manager or something like FDISK to look at the partitions and set your boot os partition to "active". Has happened to me several times.
     

Share This Page

Loading...