Application opens when computer wakes.

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by Syncopator, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. Syncopator

    Syncopator New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my Windows 8.1 computer set to turn off the display after 30 minutes, and go to sleep after 2 hours.

    A key press or mouse movement after either before or after it goes to sleep opens the screen normally.

    However, after a much longer time, overnight for example, an application (Cool Edit Pro 2) opens when I wake the machine.

    Initially it displays the program's splash screen and a notice that a file can't be found. After clicking that notice so that it goes away, the splash screen disappears and the program opens.

    Having seen advice on another forum relating to an old Microsoft Flight Simulator program running on Windows 8.1, stating that it should be installed in its own folder, not in Program Files (x86), I followed that advice for Cool Edit, but it made no difference.

    Does anyone know why this happens?

    I had a similar problem with Adobe Acrobat reader opening up. Received no answers from "eightforums", so I just uninstalled it and now use a simpler pdf reader without any trouble.
     
  2. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    318
    In the case of Adobe Acrobat reader, it's looking for up-dates during times of low cpu activity (the default setting) and can just be told to pick a new time frame or you can disable the auto-updates and check for them manually.

    In windows 8 and 8.1 the sleep mode is effectively a [pause] system button and (apart from the optional asking for password) doesn't run any extra protocols that wouldn't be running if the computer hadn't been asleep recently.
     
  3. Syncopator

    Syncopator New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I shall, for the moment, perhaps permanently, forget about Adobe Acrobat, but I don't see how your second paragraph helps me.

    Care to explain please?
     
  4. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    318
    1. There is no coalition between windows 8 sleep mode and your problem.
    2. The Cool Edit Pro 2 software is an out dated (discontinued and unsupported) audio mixer that Adobe owns the rights too and has no interest maintaining… by that name i.e. it should not be there and that’s why it has issues.
    3. Installing software outside the programs folder is a work around to prevent Windows security locking access to your documents and irrelevant to the working of this software.

    I recommend;
    a, talk to Adobe about Audition (requires Creative Cloud subscription to work correctly) if you need an Adobe audio mixer that works with Windows 8 or…
    b, remove the software from your main system and use something like vmware to install a virtual xp machine then install your old programs there.
    c, just put up with it... sounds like a minor issue to me but it's your system so it's up to you.
     
  5. Syncopator

    Syncopator New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I know the history of Cool Edit thank you.
     
  6. another

    another New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running now



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. another

    another New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Run Destop


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. another

    another New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help me setup Desktop computer Auto and run now


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. another

    another New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Open desktop run now and setup status. 0x000000f 5 นาที


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    You would be best served by creating your own thread and then posting a short clear paragraph regarding your current issue... Oh and please goes a long way too.. :)
     
    jcgriff2 likes this.
  11. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    318
    Ok I didn't even twig that he was asking a question… just assumed it was one of these auto-spam things.

    Thanks Kemical. :oops:
     
    kemical likes this.
  12. another

    another New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help me setup Desktop computer Auto and run now


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. another

    another New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Loading...