ATI Drivers dissapear with I add more than 4gb of Ram

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by akatsuki5, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. akatsuki5

    akatsuki5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Win 7 works perfectly for me so far until recently I added additional ram to my system.

    I have 4gb(2slots) of DDR2 Ram installed currently, but when I added an additional set of 4Gb(Same Company/Speed/Brand/Line) my mobo and Win7 recognizes the additional Ram but I get a Message that says my ATI driver are no longer functioning and I should visit the website.

    Win 7 doesnt recognize my monitors, my dual display debunks to a mirrored display instead of extending and I cant uninstall or reinstall catalyst.

    But, If I remove the additional Ram everything goes back to normal.

    my setup

    MSI K9A2 Platnium
    Amd Agena 9600 Quad
    ATI HD 3850
    Ram-G Skill 6400-800 2gb(4 total)
    Windows 7 (64bit)

    Thanks, hopefully someone can help.

    -Rod
     
  2. BlackWolf

    BlackWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    9
    that sounds really strange because the two are not really connected. only thing I could imagine would be unsufficient power ... is your power adapter strong enough to supply the additional RAM? did/does it work with another OS?
     
  3. akatsuki5

    akatsuki5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the Reply

    I'm using a Raidmax 530w power supply, additional items are
    DVDRW
    (2)Barracuda Hard Drives

    I think the power is sufficent. I also dont understand why the ram would effect the videocard drivers and catalyst, but it does. As soon as I remove it everything goes back to normal.I also tried just one additional stick for 6gbs of Ram, but the result is the same.
     
  4. BlackWolf

    BlackWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well, if possible somehow you should try another OS (preferably vista). Because this is the only way to make sure it's either a hardware problem (mainboard broken?) or a windows 7 problem (in which case you can't do much except send feedback I guess).
     
  5. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    This guy's post shows the same issue: http://windows7forums.com/windows-7-hardware/1496-windows-7-64bit-8gb-memory-ati-video-driver.html

    That's his specs.
    The common points:
    Quad core AMD's
    G-Skill DDR2-800 RAM.
    ATI's HD Series Video Cards
    AMD's 790FX Chipset

    Gotta be something to do with one of those points.
     
  6. akatsuki5

    akatsuki5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Figured it out, has nothing to do with Windows 7 compatibility but with Catalyst 8.12 (64bit). Apparently vista 64-bit users are having the same problem.

    Catalyst 8.12 has been out for only a few weeks now, so until ATI paches this problem either drop down to 4gb or install 8.11 and everything should be fine. I havent done so yet, but after I finish this msg I will. Ill post back my results but its sounds promising.

    amd forum where people are having the same problem
    AMD Game Forums - Catalyst 8.12 vista x64 8gb ram WOW issue

    catalyst 8.11
    Catalystâ„¢ 8.11 Display Driver for Windows Vista (64 bit)

    Cheers Guys
    -Rod
     

Share This Page

Loading...