BSOD Cause by Nostkrnl.exe

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Corey Whitworth, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. Corey Whitworth

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having a problem for a while with BSOD and i have made sure that all the hardware is working correctly and that all the drivers are up to date. Also it happens completely randomly and not after any particular process. I have uploaded my dump files so any help would be extremely appreciated!, thanks in advance - Corey
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 124, {0, fffffa80098ee518, 0, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : AuthenticAMD
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    all your dump files are the same as above and Bugcheck 124 means a fatal hardware error has occurred. This can be brought on by overheating, overclocking. old bios or a faulty processor.
    Unfortunately I couldn't get the information from the dump files on your bios and processor speed, as well as the unloaded driver list. This could be down to your system settings but in any case please ensure your settings are like this:
    If your overclocking please return to default values until source of bsod is discovered.
    Check your processor temp when stressed by using this app:
    http://www.hwinfo.com/
    This app is good for stressing the cpu:
    http://www.mersenne.org/download/
    Use the torture test contained within.

    Check your system Bios is the latest version. This app will help you find your motherboard and Bios version:
    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

    This thread explains what info we need and even has an app which will collect some of it for you:
    http://windowsforum.com/threads/how-to-ask-for-help-with-a-bsod-problem.38837/

    Post any new dump files.
     
  3. Corey Whitworth

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, i changed to those settings and i have still been having BSOD is there any thing else i can do? - Corey
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    If you can post any of the new dump files now that the settings have been changed then great.

    Did you check on system temps?
     
  5. Corey Whitworth

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are the dump files and sorry no i don't know how.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
  7. Corey Whitworth

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did change those settings and here are the other files you asked for i hope this helps you help me resolve this issue! - Corey
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    131
    Could be his processor is bad, the dump seems to mention AMD specifically..

    MODULE_NAME: AuthenticAMD

    IMAGE_NAME: AuthenticAMD

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_AuthenticAMD_PROCESSOR_CACHE_PRV

    BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_AuthenticAMD_PROCESSOR_CACHE_PRV

    Followup: MachineOwner
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Hi Corey,
    thanks for the info as it did help me find at least some info on your system. As we've seen all your dump files point to the processor as the cause. This could be because there is something wrong with the actual processor or other factors. We need to perform some tests to try and determine if it is the cpu or those other factors..
    Overheating.
    Please check your temperatures especially when the CPU is stressed. This app will help you monitor the temperatures.
    http://www.hwinfo.com/
    You could of course just wait until you stress test later to monitor the temps.
    The AMD chip your using won't like temps above 65c/70c so be aware and if when stress testing later it's obvious your going way past that temp then stop.
    Out of date Bios.
    I checked the info you sent and your motherboard is this one:
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4305#ov
    Now the current Bios version looks like it's 'Version:FA' and depending on your motherboard revision you may have further updates. You'll have to look on the actual motherboard itself to see if you have version/revision 4.1 or 5.0. If it's revision 5.0 then you have the latest update. 4.1 however does have Bios updates pending so do check.
    Faulty processor.
    Usually to test if a CPU is running ok it's put through a stress test meaning that it will be tested up to 100% load. If a CPU can do that without crashing or overheating then it's generally considered sound. A number of apps are around that will stress the CPU but the best known and probably the easiest to use is Prime95. It's actually an app to find prime numbers but contains a torture test for cpu's. It's much favored by overclockers because you know if your CPU/system can run Prime95 then it can pretty much run anything.
    Prime95:
    http://www.mersenne.org/download/

    This guide is taken from the Overclockers forum:

    Ref:
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=335813

    If you have completed the above and everything passed but you still have a bsod then test your RAM. Download the latest version of memtest here:
    http://www.memtest.org/
    Why test the RAM? Well we are just trying to cover all the bases and go for the most obvious culprits.(Even brand new RAM can be bad)
    This guide although old will explain how best to test your RAM.
    http://www.techspot.com/community/topics/tutorial-how-to-use-memtest.62524/

    Please post your results from the above.
     
  10. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    131
    After looking at the error info in parameter 2, most certainly this is related to the processor. Check that your CPU's fan is running correctly, remove and re-seat the processor, and see if that helps.

    Code:
    ===============================================================================
    Common Platform Error Record @ fffffa800848c8f8
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Record Id     : 01cf8b0dd89cbcad
    Severity      : Fatal (1)
    Length        : 928
    Creator       : Microsoft
    Notify Type   : Machine Check Exception
    Timestamp     : 6/18/2014 15:56:29 (UTC)
    Flags         : 0x00000002 PreviousError
    
    ===============================================================================
    Section 0     : Processor Generic
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Descriptor    @ fffffa800848c978
    Section       @ fffffa800848ca50
    Offset        : 344
    Length        : 192
    Flags         : 0x00000001 Primary
    Severity      : Fatal
    
    Proc. Type    : x86/x64
    Instr. Set    : x64
    Error Type    : Cache error
    Operation     : Generic
    Flags         : 0x00
    Level         : 3
    CPU Version   : 0x0000000000600f20
    Processor ID  : 0x0000000000000000
    
    ===============================================================================
    Section 1     : x86/x64 Processor Specific
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Descriptor    @ fffffa800848c9c0
    Section       @ fffffa800848cb10
    Offset        : 536
    Length        : 128
    Flags         : 0x00000000
    Severity      : Fatal
    
    Local APIC Id : 0x0000000000000000
    CPU Id        : 20 0f 60 00 00 08 06 00 - 0b 32 98 3e ff fb 8b 17
                    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
                    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Proc. Info 0  @ fffffa800848cb10
    
    ===============================================================================
    Section 2     : x86/x64 MCA
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Descriptor    @ fffffa800848ca08
    Section       @ fffffa800848cb90
    Offset        : 664
    Length        : 264
    Flags         : 0x00000000
    Severity      : Fatal
    
    Error         : DCACHELG_WR_ERR (Proc 0 Bank 4)
      Status      : 0xf300000200190127
    
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    You could of course just do as I suggested and check your temps first and if need be then check on heatsink, fan and TiM re-application.....
     
  12. Corey Whitworth

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had all of my hardware checked at the manufacturer and they said that everything is working fine. -Corey
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    When did you have the hardware checked Corey and by whom? The reason i ask is because it may have developed a fault in the meantime.... Also why did you ask them to check the machine?
     
  14. Corey Whitworth

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had my hardware checked be the manufacturer, as it is under warranty. I had it checked because of the blue screen errors and the probability of it being hardware. When it went the mother board was faulty and they fixed it. However it did not fix the blue screens. So i decided to make a post on here. - Corey
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Corey if the machine is still under warranty then I'd contact the manufacturer again and if need be show them this post. I assume you sent the whole machine back and they either repaired or replaced the motherboard? Unfortunately this hasn't cured the issue and either the CPU or motherboard has a possible fault. I'm worried that if you start messing with it you will negate what warranty you have left.
    We can only tell you what the dump files are telling us and both Josephur and myself have pointed out that the processor, for whatever reason, is at fault.
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    If you really don't want to go back to the manufacturer follow my guidelines in post #9. Please be aware that when testing the RAM removing any modules could invalidate your warranty. You could always check and see what actually does invalidate the warranty as it will be written somewhere.. Usually the warranty itself I guess.
    Whatever you decide if you need any help just ask.
     
  17. Corey Whitworth

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Before I get it checked again, is there anything else at all I could possibly do that does not involve taking it back? If there is could it be in terms that a noob would understand?
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    You could always check the temperatures. Follow my post #9 concerning overheating. This way if we/you could get some idea what's wrong you'll know if they fixed it next time.....
     
  19. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    131
    I would remove and reseat the processor, believe it or not it may be that simple...
     
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,050
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    I strongly suggest you don't do that as it may invalidate the warranty.
     

Share This Page

Loading...