BSOD Finally trying to do something about it

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by travelingjunk84, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,208
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    8GB is fine although if you can afford 16GB then personally i'd get the larger size.
     
  2. travelingjunk84

    travelingjunk84 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Had a feeling you were going to say that. Haha. Thanks again. Played over watch with 2gb memory and was fine. Think It was just #1 stick that's bad. Have yet to install my storage drive. I'll give this a few more days and then out all the good sticks in. Thanks agian


    Sent from my iPhone using Windows Forums mobile app
     
  3. RichM

    RichM Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    49
    This is quite common where a single stick of ram will run but more will not. Sounds like you have 3 mismatched sticks of ram and if you want things to go right, while ram is so inexpensive, time to buy 3 or better yet 4 matched. If you go to www.crucial.com
    and use their configurator they will match the ram for your board and guaranty the match or money back. You could take their model number and perhaps find it less expensively but then no guaranty. Curical is Micron memory among the best made and that site makes it easy. With today's hardware being more and more complex, the need to match density, cas latency and ECC factor are way more important than speed, and most places that sell ram never publish the those three things. Buying four allows you the advantage to run dual channel ram which in and by itself requires all 2 or 4 sticks to be the same model number and will increase performance as your reward.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,208
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Hehe, well it was only a suggestion.

    Yup it does look like only the one stick was bad and it's a shame your not still within the warranty period (unless you still are in which case i'd get them replaced).
    As I already mentioned (post #99) it's far better to buy 2 or 4 sticks as opposed to a single stick as they will have been matched in the factory and optimised for dual channel mode.

    As usual, any issues then please post back.
     
  5. travelingjunk84

    travelingjunk84 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok back again!! Since the last post I bought 4 x 4gb sticks and everything has been running great, up until yesterday when my computer died because of my battery backup. Still unsure why that failed. Fast forward today while playing rocket league I get a BSOD (didn't catch watch it was)then screen goes blank and had to manually power down.

    Power back up and no post and long beeps. Read my manual and states graphics cars not installed properly. Take it out and try to power it up again. It does. 1 long then 2 short beeps = memory or graphics error. Great. Haven't tried to power it up again. Currently have my monitor hooked up to the on board graphics






    Sent from my iPhone using Windows Forums mobile app
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32,208
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Hi,
    sorry to hear issue's have returned.

    Bios beeps can mean different things depending on which Bios used and it's very handy that your manual has a guide

    Try re-seating your RAM. Take the RAM out and then make sure slot's are free from dust.



    If the bsod is still present then try testing your Ram slot's individually.
     
  7. travelingjunk84

    travelingjunk84 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey there. Currently using 1 stick and it posted and is currently working but when it started i had an error message saying c: file was corrupt. It went through the window check to see if it can correct errors.


    Sent from my iPhone using Windows Forums mobile app
     
  8. travelingjunk84

    travelingjunk84 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    here are the dump files if you wanted to take a look
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...