Can someone please help me get XP back?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Mushroomcloud, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. Mushroomcloud

    Mushroomcloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like windows 7, but my computer just isn't fast enough and my computer ran XP faster.. I'm also wayyy more used to XP. (i have an e1505)

    anyway, I have the XP disk, But when I put the disk in, "Install Windows XP" isn't an option. (the text and images are dulled grey) I've tried several things but I'm not very tech savvy and i really need some guidance...
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    This will wipe your Windows 7 completely so make sure you backup everything you are going to want to keep. Put the disk in and boot to to your CD/DVDrom. It will ask you where you want to install it to, and you will see your Windows 7 drive. You have to format that first and install it to there. There will be an option there, I cant remember exactly what the XP install looks like but Im sure you will work through it easy as.

    Let me know if you need more info
     
  3. Mushroomcloud

    Mushroomcloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay. I'm backing it up now.

    How do you boot to the CD/DVDrom? Sorry... I feel like i should know this stuff.
     
  4. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Thats the easy part. Just put the disk in and restart, somewhere before Windows loads it will ask you to "boot to CD/DVD" just hit the any key.

    Good luck
     
  5. Mushroomcloud

    Mushroomcloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay. I'll give that a try...

    I tried what you said, and when I restarted my computer, it didn't ask me anything... So i hit F12 while startup, and i booted it like you told me too, but when i did, it detected an error or something, and then windows 7 started "scanning for errors"...
     
    #5 Mushroomcloud, Feb 11, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  6. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    so you managed to boot to the cd and thats when you got the error?
     
  7. Mushroomcloud

    Mushroomcloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think so. It tried, but then i got the error.
     
  8. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Well you need to get booted to the disk. Is it an original XP CD or a recovery disk?

    I found this tread for you, I think you need to hit "F2" on the Dell screen, have a read through it see if it helps.
    How to boot from cd/dvd drive? (e1505) - Notebook Forums and Laptop Discussion

    Other than that you might have to change your BIOS boot order and get the CD/DVDrom to boot first

    Hope this helps
     
  9. Mushroomcloud

    Mushroomcloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the help! I'll look into it!
     

Share This Page

Loading...