Windows 7 Classic vs. New Start Menu

Discussion in 'Desktop Customization' started by iroken22, Jan 21, 2009.

?

Classic or New(Aero) Start Menu?

This poll will close on Jun 7, 2036 at 10:31 PM.
  1. Classic Start Menu

    31.0%
  2. New Start Menu

    64.2%
  3. I hate Both

    2.2%
  4. I like Both

    6.6%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Franpa

    Franpa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good to know, maybe include that information (about it being self contained) to the readme as well as a list of versions it has been tested on and work properly with?
     
    thomasw234 and (deleted member) like this.
  2. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Good suggestion, I've actually managed to try it on Build 7600 now, and it appeared to be working fine. I've updated the first post accordingly!
     
  3. rbridgeman

    rbridgeman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've turned on Small Icons on the taskbar which give it the Vista look with the Start button overhang and allow more screen real estate at the bottom. The dynamic themes are a nice touch alongside.
     
  4. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    CSMenu now has its own website! Please go to CSMenu Official Siteto download CSMenu and the related documentation.

    Thanks,

    Thomas.
     
  5. Sylvia

    Sylvia New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    New start menu

    I love it. It's fresh looking, gives option to pin programs to start menu or task menu for easier access. Also allows you to open documents related to programs through the arrow extension, ie, microsoft word, and open the last few documents you were working on. ITS FAB. :D
     
  6. tanzanos

    tanzanos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    8
    My son has vista on his pc and I have xp with classic menu (95 - 2000).

    My problem is that when I tried using his pc I could not navigate nor find how to print a document on his office 2007 word. Also I have a very hard time navigating with vista menu.

    Why did they make it so hard to navigate office 2007 and vista? No menus anywhere! I bought win7 home premium and am seriously thinking of not installing it since I cannot understand the logic behind the user interface!

    Moving on does not mean making things harder but easier. We are not all geeks nor do we have the time to spend just to find out how to print a document. Also they got rid of outlook express and windows live is horrid. Everything is foggy and not sharp.

    I could navigate at great speeds with the classic menu but the new menu has everything hidden!

    WHY?????

    I do want to use win 7 very much but if I cannot have outlook express and classic menu then I will thow away the new OS!

    Damn shame really!:confused:
     
  7. Sylvia

    Sylvia New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi tanzanos. There is this program that I found for you that changes the Office 2007 ribbons back to the classic menu. I know it's difficult getting used to new things but there are a lot of help videos on Microsoft office website. press F1 whilst in micro office and you can click the links there that show videos on how to do whatever. Here is the link for you. Please don't let the changes put you off Windows 7; it's as fast as XP and nice to look at like Vista. You will get the hang of it so hang in there. Here is that link for you. Classic Menu for Office 2007 - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com Let me know how you get on with this. cheers
     
  8. tanzanos

    tanzanos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank you for the info. I also found an application that makes Win7 have a classic start menu. This will alleviate the problems I have with the new way of doing things. I want the power of new technology without the hassles of new market oriented user interfaces!
    Again thank you:D
     
  9. meta1

    meta1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    csmenu

    i am very sorry but i can't get to work with win 7 64 i agree with bitdockster
     
  10. tourettes

    tourettes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get an error when trying to view program files or my documents.
     
  11. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    I notice on the website it says you don't need to use Start Killer. Does the new version automatically disable the Windows Start menu?
     
  12. Vulpis

    Vulpis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very nice little program--one of the things that was *majorly* annoying me with the changes they made to Win7 was turning the nice cascading Start Menu from 2k and XP into that cramped little monstrosity obviously designed for a cell phone or PDA.
    A few questions, though (I may need to ask more later, as I haven't seen whether CSMenu automatically runs on startup yet. :) )

    1) To get rid of the Documents menu--if I'm understanding things, you delete 2documents.ini and then renumber the rest of the .uni files in the main_menu folder? I don't want to go messing with things and completely screw it up--I'm having enough problems with beating Win7 into submission as it is. :-/
    2) What's the method to sort/organize the folders? Just direct editing of the Start Menu folder at the moment? (While I know the author is busy with other projects, a simple cut/paste/delete context menu, and/or basic drag and drop functionality would be *greatly* appreciated...)
    3) Along with this--I have a empty folder in the Programs listing named 'Tablet PC', and another under 'Accessories' that actually contains shortcuts. Is that normal for a new Win7 install? And related to #3, how do I go about getting rid of the extra one?
     
  13. ErichXY

    ErichXY New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Classic Menu under Favorites

    I don't particularly want to replace the Windows 7 Start Menu, at least not with additional commercial software.

    Instead, I have successfully used to methods that the new Windows 7 Start Menu supports.

    First, the method I decided not to use.
    I created a "Classic Menu" folder under /Users/[User-Name] followed by sub-folders for the various menus that I lost in the migration to Windows 7. There, I added my program and file links into my new Favorites sub-folders.
    I subsequently pinned the sub-folders to the Windows 7 Start Menu.
    Because Windows 7 does not allow pinned folders to behave as menus (at least not that I know of :rolleyes:), these folders open in new windows. I rejected this method only because I didn't like the visual aesthetics of the new window.
    +
    These new "Classic Menu" folders are also available in the Windows 7 Start Menu under my user name on the right side of the Start Menu. Because other stuff - sometimes junk I've allowed to accumulate there - also displays under my User Name on the start menu, this "advantage" wasn't much of an advantage for me.

    Second, the method I am using.
    Under /Users/[User-Name]/Favorites, I built separate folders for each of my "Classic" menus. I made sure that the Windows 7 Start Menu had been customized to display Favorites. Then, I added my program and file links into my new Favorites sub-folders.
    +
    This method is one step removed - one additional click - from the convenience of the old Classic Menu, but I am still able to pin programs I use a lot to the Windows 7 Start Menu, and, still have links for recently used programs (up to 15 in my particular customization of the Start Menu) readily to hand.

    Now, does anyone know how to make a pinned Start Menu folder behave as a menu?
     
  14. Katarrah

    Katarrah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Start Menue

    I'm not happy that I don't have the option to revert to classic if I want to. The new one is hard to see for people with limited vision.
     
  15. thornik

    thornik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Discouraged with results

    Despite of MS agents, truth is truth: new start menu designed in mind just to be DIFFERENT, not useful. Old menu were light in navigation, requiring no damn clicks "forward/back". But what's really annoying is the fact, that MS leave no choice! Like you grabbed for eggs and pushed to "the future from MS". I hate it and still looking for replacement of that ugly "new start menu".
     
  16. thornik

    thornik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    And one more addition: DON'T MIX please (like Sylvia) "additional buns" with main conception of menu. Main conception is wrong, "buns" are OK (like "open documents related to programs").
     
  17. thornik

    thornik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, classic answer of capitalistic world: instead of changing stuff, better to hide ass and suck.
    Strongly speaking, you lie. Nobody could dislike "classic" menu, since there was no any OTHER menu than this. And d@mn, do you still think those 65 people voting for "classic" are wrong? Doubt it. This topic even never appeared if "new" menu were so good as laud by its "micro"-"soft" promouters. (as we say, "there is no smoke without fire")
    I vote with only one (small) hope: there is smart people in MS who can stop this IT circus with repainting/breaking current system.
     
  18. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    This might work. I can't say for sure since I don't have a folder like the one you described.

    Right Click the taskbar.
    Mouse over: Toolbars
    Click: New Toolbar.
    Navigate to your folder.
    In the Address Bar click on the name of your folder.

    This will put the name of your folder in the little window at the bottom named "Folder"
    Click: the "Select Folder" button

    This should put a toolbar on the taskbar for your folder.

    Now if you want it to sit beside the "Start Menu Orb" you'll need to unlock the taskbar.

    Right click the taskbar and click on "Lock the taskbar" to deselect it.
    The little sliders will appear. They're the little dotted buttons. Slide it over next to the Start orb. Anything that is in the way will get bumped over to the other side and the contents of your folder will probably spread out across the taskbar. Then slide the other slider on the other side over next to your folder. You should be able to slide stuff around til you get it like you want it then relock the taskbar and it will stay put.

    If you don't mind it sitting next to the Notification area don't bother with moving it since it can be a bit of a pain.

    Like I said, I'm not sure it will work but it might be worth a try.
     
    #298 stueycaster, Oct 30, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  19. ErichXY

    ErichXY New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. That's a fine solution for the menus that I use most frequently.

    It would still be grand if Microsoft enabled (or allowed me to enable) menu behaviour for folders pinned to the Start Menu. I could easily eat up Taskbar real-estate otherwise. And, that would force the Taskbar into the ugly and unkind scroll behaviour should I open more than a handful of windows.
     
  20. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    You're welcome. I know what you mean about not wanting to use too much of the taskbar. I unpinned all but 2 of the icons from it. I set up a "computer" toolbar on mine. I have a computer menu that allows me to find almost any file in my computer from the taskbar. The only drawback is it won't show hidden files.
     

Share This Page

Loading...