COM Surrogate

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by iroken22, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Everytime I try and open the control panel in Windows 7 I get a message that says that "COM Surrogate has Stopped Working". I looked at forums online and the same problem had happened in vista and they had a fix. When I downloaded and installed the fix it did not solve the problem. The problem seems to happen when windows trys to make video files into thumbnails. Any Suggestions......
     
  2. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    The answer that I have routinely gotten, because I am having the same problem, is that it is related to codec packs. Do you have any installed?
     
  3. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Re;

    If I have any installed then I am unaware of them. I am a web desinger and am not to familiar with codecs packages. What exactly would i be looking for and how can I find them and disable them?
     
    #3 iroken22, Nov 22, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2008
  4. blackroseMD1

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    28
    Well, you would probably know if you had any installed, as they would show up in your uninstall applet. I've removed all the codecs from my system, and am still getting the COM surrogate error. Sorry man, wish I could have helped.
     
  5. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Re

    Hey Its no big problem. I do not think that the problem has to do with the codecs though. I disabled all codecs on my system and disabled thumbnail preview and the error message continued to happen. I cannot use the DEP Thing because my OS is 64 bit. I dont know what else to do.
     
  6. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Recan you

    BlackRose can you provide me a list of software packages that you have installed on your computer? I will cross reference it with mine to try and find a commonality
     

Share This Page

Loading...