Windows 7 Confused on the pricing of Windows 7 for XP users

I apologize for all the re-edits I did on my previous post. I urge you to go back and re-read it on page 2.

Just keep in mind. Hard Drive Space is cheap and getting cheaper. There should be no reason to skimp on it.
Same with RAM.

I apologize for all the re-edits I did on my previous post. I urge you to go back and re-read it on page 2.

Just keep in mind. Hard Drive Space is cheap and getting cheaper. There should be no reason to skimp on it.
Same with RAM.

Just re-read it and while it is very informative could you please elaborate on the whole calculation of the RAM and how it relates to free space? I don't consider myself computer-illiterate but that's my first time hearing and and I would appreciate it explained in more detail seeing as it seems very foreign to me.

And while you are right when you say that HDD space and RAM are really cheap now a days, I am still a poor college student who still has to pay bills so any kind of investment in additional hardware is out of the question for now :p Thus leaving me with my 4 gigs of RAM and my single 500GB HDD. The reason I want to partition so bad is that it makes me sleep at night knowing my data is separate from my OS if something drastic were to ever happen and I would need a reinstall.

Man I wish I had a 500 Gb hard drive and 4Gb ram. Mine is 200 Gb and I have 2Gb ram. My problem is younger relatives without jobs who never have enough money to support themselves. I have to supply them transportation and school clothes and other stuff. The boyfriend finally found a job after being unemployed over a year so maybe I'll get to have a little of my money. But now my wife is talking about moving. It never ends.