connection status

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Networking' started by bassfisher6522, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
    I just installed a new mobo, CPU, CPU cooler. On the old mobo my LAN port (RJ-45) the speed is/was 100mbps. Now on the new mobo the LAN port is a gigabit port. On kids old desktop running XP when you move the mouse over the network connection it will show you the connection speed of 100mbps. In vista it doesn't show this. Is there a way to find this. I am wanting to see the speed difference between the two mobo's.
     
  2. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Network Sharing Center

    Hi Bass ! I'm not sure if this is what you want. In "Network And Sharing Center" Off to the left hand side it says: Manage Network Connection Or Net Works. If you hit that it brings up, on mine-- Lan or High Speed Internet NVIDIA n Force 10/100 Mbps........
     
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hey Bassfisher,
    just to add to Celestras post here's a screenie.. Just click where the arrow is pointing..

    View attachment 5128
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
    Thanks guys. I did some digging and found it.....it's good to know I can count you guys. I'm just so damn impatient.
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Glad we could help... :) That's what we are here for right? :)
     
  6. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    If you right click "Local Area Connection Status" it will bring up a more detailed screen......Similar to Kemicals, but smaller.
     
    #6 Celestra, Jan 30, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2010

Share This Page

Loading...