Constant Monitor Flicker. Would a cold room be the culprit.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by RingAnimated, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    I always try to keep my room cold in the summer (i am a winter person). But ive noticed my monitor flicker is worse then and not as bad other times. Is blasting AC the problem?

    I have a NVIDIA 550 Ti 1GB card with monitors hooked up through VGA to DVI adapters. Asking a YouTube Computer Master (i will not say geek, cause i am also decent with computers) named BetaFlux who said the new RAM i installed could be pushing my PSU's limit (and MemTest86+ Bootable found 660 errors in 11 hours).

    Please respond, im starting to get headaches from this annoying bull****.

    And i know it's not a problem with the monitor, because i have 2 both flickering at the exact same rate.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hmm... I doubt new RAM would push a PSU over but still we live and learn... Can you post your system spec including PSU and I'll have a look see.

    You might find this website useful: eXtreme Power Supply Calculator
     
  3. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    im pretty sure my power supply is at 120v

    500GB HDD
    NVIDIA 550 Ti
    AMD Athlon II x4 630 2.8 GHz
    LG Super-Multi DVD-R drive
    8 GB RAM

    All connected to an MSI K9N6PGM2-V2 MoBo

    And it seems it had gone away when the temp got higher in my room. But now its back though i just started up.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hmm..120v doesn't sound right.. If you open the case and look on the side of the PSU you should be able to see a sticker stating it's spec. Look for something like 250-300W+.
     
  5. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well the only time it flickers is on startup (normal) and when my room is cold.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Perhaps you have a loose connection somewhere? I'm thinking that when it's cold it perhaps doesn't fit together perfectly but once warmed up and expanded slightly the fit is perfect? Try checking all connections and fittings.
     
  7. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    That would make alot of sense being as it only flickers when cold and at startup, which is a normal thing, and the OSD never flickers.
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Just a thought.. Have you checked your cables etc?
     
  9. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep reconnected them completely a few times. Right now it is 78 in here and they are not flickering. Im turning them off till tomarrow where they will flicker for about an hour when first turned on lol.
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    That's a good idea. Tomorrow when it's flickering I'd check each connection in turn and see if pushing any of the connectors together changes anything.
     
  11. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    pushing on them made no differ
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Can you remember if it was like this when new?
     
  13. Adamsappleone

    Adamsappleone U.S.Navy D.A.V.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    122
    Just a thought as it happened to my neighbors PC, check the cable @ the monitor.
     
  14. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    i got it in winter and we have heating, so it wasn't too bad. It always sis this on startup i believe, though every lcd ive ever had has always done that.
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    what about contacting the manufacturer? Perhaps they might shed some light. If you post the name and maker of the monitor I'll see what I can track down web wise.
     
  16. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    1. HP S2031 (replaced power-cord to a LineTek from the original Foxxconn junker that turned off every time i moved it) Man-Jul 2010
    2. Ganz ZM-L115H (generic) Man-Feb 2003
     

Share This Page

Loading...