dxgkrnl.sys While Rendering a Video in Vegas Pro 11.0

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by RingAnimated, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    This occurred while i was rendering a 1080p video in Vegas Pro 11.0. The weird thing was the problematic file (dxgkrnl.sys) is nowhere to be found. It has no path whatsoever. This is causing massive fear with it being MEMORY_MANAGEMENT and installing new RAM a-while ago. Here's the DMP file in a zip. This is the first one ive had so far. Please tell me if this is critical. I have just also clean re-installed my Video Card driver so hope that helps me, but just in case here's my DMP.

    View attachment 070912-39093-01.zip
     
  2. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
  4. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got the video rendered, that's the only time the stops would happen.
     
  5. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ran Memtest86+ and found 660 errors in 5 passes (11 hours). Does that mean i need to replace my RAM
     
  7. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    BSOD free for 2 days.
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi,

    apologies that your posts have not been answered till now.

    Your first dmp file shows that it was the vegas pro that caused the issue. Also dxgkml.sys is a Direct X file so you probably solved the issue by installing the latest graphics driver. Your second dmp file points to a Dragon browser being the fault. Try un-installing and see if that helps.

    I see you ran memtest and had errors. Normally this would mean either one or all sticks are bad. You'll need to run it on each individual stick to find the actual one. Saying this though, are you sure the settings are correct for your memory? I would check via the bios and if need be correct settings.
     
  9. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for your help, the only BSOD ive had since the BAD_POOL_CALLER one was also BAD_POOL_CALLER, but because of a stupid glitch with EasyCAP (turning on TV with it plugged in via USB). BTW i wouldn't mind if you cauld tell me how to get the BSOD Kernal Debugging symbols, i lost them a while ago when i re-installed windows. My ram slots the last time i opened my case also somehow had a rubber band beside them, possibly the prob. Does AMIBIOS have an option to change your RAM settings, because this ram is at a higher clock than my old.
     
  10. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    and srry about getting impatient, you get that way after a MOBO dies after a string of BSOD's (last time i ever use a biostar).
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi,
    you can find all things relating to dmp files here: Download and Install Debugging Tools for Windows

    As for changing RAM settings. It depends on the bios as your already aware. If you have a quality motherboard then they should be in the bios but basic cheaper models won't have this option (normally). It does sound from what you say that your issues could be caused by incorrect RAM settings so I'd personally at least have a look to see if any settings can be found.
     
  12. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    2 new BSOD's one wheni turned on my TV while EasyCAP connected to PC, and one when trying to quit Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas while the graphics were glitching badly?

    View attachment BSOD's.zip
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi,

    thanks for the dmp files. They are showing memory faults so please test your RAM using Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool Only test one stick at a time so you know which one is the culprit if it errors out. Oh as the RAM is new please ensure you have the correct settings enabled in the bios.
     
  14. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    I checked, no settings for that in the bios, though my bios is dated back to 2009. Im getting MSI liveupdate and hope it has a safe noob-proof way to update. Im too scared to flash cause ive seen what can happen, and i don't need Bad Checksum POST errors on startup, not to mention a bricked mobo.
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I hear ya... Let me know how things go. :)
     
  16. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    plan on doing that l8er (more like putting it off in fear!). I was recommended to run ComboFix, so i did. it deleted some files from the SysWow64 folder, so that might have fixed it.
     
  17. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yet another BSOD, this time the instant i clicked a video on YouTube. I really have to thank everyone here for the help, i feel like ill get an answer at some point. Tomorrow i might try the thing with the RAM with only 1 stick at a time, if only one is bad, ill send it back, if 2 are bad, send it back and find a new brand! didn't update bios yet, like i said, im scarred (should get over my fears being as im entering VOTECH for electronics next year).

    DMP's Below:
    View attachment This is getting old Microsoft!!!.zip
     
    #17 RingAnimated, Jul 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  18. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    well your getting reported for spam...
     
    #18 RingAnimated, Jul 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  19. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi, I checked the dmp. Bugcheck 1a which was caused by your browser. This again points to memory issues and this page will explain it better than I: Bug Check 0x1A: MEMORY_MANAGEMENT You really need to check your RAM.. Edit: Just to add, regarding Bios flashing: It's certainly true that flashing a bios is a risky business....BUT... Much has changed from the bad old days and as long as you don't your power cut off or something equally catastrophic then chances are you'll be fine. Most manufacturers now do some form of app which will flash the bios for you. Just search the motherboard website or read your manual.
     
    #19 kemical, Jul 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  20. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Additionally you may want to also consider updating, upgrading, uninstalling or renaming the following pre-Windows 7 RTM drivers still present on your computer
    [TABLE="width: 1036"]
    [TR]
    [TD]KMWDFILTER.sys[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]4/29/2009[/TD]
    [TD]Looks like a Kensington Mouse Driver[/TD]
    [TD]Software & Drivers - Kensington[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]PROCEXP113.SYS[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]11/3/2008[/TD]
    [TD]Very Old Sysinternal Process Explorer Driver[/TD]
    [TD]Process Explorer[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]StkCMini.sys[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]6/27/2007[/TD]
    [TD]Syntek USB Video Mini Driver[/TD]
    [TD]EzCAP116 / easycap DC60+ Support Pages.[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]StkCPipe.sys[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]12/21/2006[/TD]
    [TD]Syntek USB Video Pipeline Driver[/TD]
    [TD]EzCAP116 / easycap DC60+ Support Pages.[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]wacommousefilter.sys[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]2/16/2007[/TD]
    [TD]Wacom driver [/TD]
    [TD]Drivers | Wacom Americas[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    If Blue Screens persist, then try it without your Symantec / Norton Software installed.
    Remove it completely using the programs uninstaller if present or the Programs and Features applet in the Control Panel. Follow that up by running this proprietary vendor specific removal tool from here https://www-secure.symantec.com/norton-support/jsp/help-solutions.jsp?docid=kb20080710133834EN_EndUserProfile_en_us&product=home&pvid=f-home&version=1&lg=english&ct=us
    Replace it for the time being with MSE from here Spyware Protection | Free Spyware Protection | Microsoft Security Essentials
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...