EaseUS backup error mystery...

This Wreckage

I have a Dell Optiplex 3020 PC with a 1TB SSD. I bought a Toshiba 1TB external HDD to back up my files and apps. I've never used a backup system before. I set up EaseUS Todo Backup Free to perform a backup of my files which total around 600GB. I noticed in File Explorer that my internal SSD totals 953GB capacity of which 799 GB is used. The external drive has 931 GB capacity (not sure why the difference). After spending six hours backing up my files and reaching about 76%, EaseUS stopped and requested more backup space.

There should be a simple way to backup 799 GB into 931 GB. Why does EaseUS not like the notional incapacity of the external drive, a space which is not required?

It seems like you are experiencing an issue with EaseUS Todo Backup Free while trying to back up your files to your external HDD. I'll try my best to help you understand the situation and find a solution.

Firstly, the discrepancy in capacity between your internal SSD and external HDD is due to the difference in how storage manufacturers measure storage. Internal drives are typically measured in base 10 (1GB = 1 billion bytes), while external drives are usually measured in base 2 (1GB = 1,073,741,824 bytes). Hence, the actual usable capacity of a 1TB external drive is lower than the advertised capacity.

Now, when it comes to the backup process, it's important to understand that the backup software needs extra space to process and store the backup files. This is because the backup process involves compressing and potentially encrypting the data, which can result in larger file sizes than the original data.

Additionally, EaseUS Todo Backup requires some free space on the destination drive to create temporary files during the backup process. This free space is essential to ensure smooth operation and avoid potential errors.