Expanding D drive

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by CCZ, Oct 4, 2014.

  1. CCZ

    CCZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    Apologies if this is a stupid question, but I would like to *safely *expand *by magic or something a D drive..

    (* obligatiory)

    I'm using something that is eating space on D, and we've already configured the server that there'a nothing left to give from C.

    I need to run some processes on this appliance which will fall over and die (and possibly catch fire) if they don't have a good 350+ GBs free here.

    Is there any way to increase the space on D? By about 500GBs.. Safely. By magic or something.
     
  2. JaxDrumm

    JaxDrumm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Typically D:\ Drive is a disc, instead of a Hard Drive disk. This is an 11-year-old's two cents, but 500GBs can't be added. It's a physical thing, like RAM. You should probably look into External Hard Drives on Ebay or Amazon.

    Speaking of RAM, here's a joke website: http://downloadmoreram.com/
     
  3. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    Post a picture of Disk Management. Then we can see what the options are.
     
  4. CCZ

    CCZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. It's not a case of reallocating space - I need to create some. If I could spend some monies and take a NAS or something and push its space over to D, I would be very happy. But can't do that.. This is why I'm looking for magic - I can't think of a way around this.
     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Not exactly sure that, this falls into the category of magic or not, but I remember back in the old days (and you can still do it) you could mount a new drive to an empty NTFS folder on an existing volume.
    SOURCE: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc938934.aspx

    Not sure if this will work for you or not as I'm still not exactly clear as to what you are wanting to do.

    But as a reference http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc753321.aspx
     

Share This Page

Loading...