Firefox and Win 7 question

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by steve6, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. steve6

    steve6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. When using IE8, no matter how many tabs I have open, each will pop up from the taskbar if I hover over the IE logo.

    I just noticed that with Firefox (just updated to 3.55, incidentally), that only the tab I'm currently viewing pops up.

    Is this normal?


    thanks


    steve
     
  2. steve6

    steve6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. rockwerks

    rockwerks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    YEP tabs only it is the new update
     
  4. Blackfryar

    Blackfryar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Firefox 3.6 Beta 1 and all open tabs appear above the taskbar when you hover over the logo.
     
  5. Fallen

    Fallen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!
    I didn't want to create new thread so i just add to this one.
    So i bought new OCZ Agility 3 120Gb SSD and instalation went fine and i have OS in SSD.
    Now i'm using Firefox, no matter which version and fFF started to freeze suddenly...
    i tried some tweak options from mydellmini.com and they didn't helped me with this problem :S
    when i open new tabs from links it usually freeze whole browser no matter how many pages i open.

    can you tell me where the problem is?

    Thank you in advance!
     
  6. Corrine

    Corrine Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi, Fallen.

    I don't know if this will solve your problem but it is worth a try if Firefox is slow to respond or hangs. This can occur if multiple copies of the Firefox Session Restore file have been created:


    • Open your profile folder: At the top of the Firefox window, click the Firefox menu, select Help and select Troubleshooting Information.
    • Under the Application Basics section, click Open Containing Folder which will open your Firefox profile folder.
    • Exit Firefox.
    • Locate and delete the sessionstore.js file and any copies, such as sessionstore-1.js, sessionstore-2.js.
    • Close your profile folder and restart Firefox.
     
  7. Glowry

    Glowry Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0

    HI Steve, Sorry but i didn't understand what you want to say? i am using firefox 3.6 and it is fine. When i need to open a new window then it open a new tab with ctrl+T or move among tabs be ctrl+tab.
     
  8. Glowry

    Glowry Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Nikon Same with me
     
  9. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Here's a suggestion, although I'm not sure how it may alter your browser experience but, still...

    Try getting up to date by using IE9 & FF7. IE9 is far better than 8 & the version of FF you are using is quite old.

    Cheers,
    Drew
     
  10. Glowry

    Glowry Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    IE9 is ok, but i don't agree with FF7 because it did not support google toolbar. firefox only 2.0 to 4.0 are support the google toolbar.
     
  11. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Dunno what to say since I am not a big fan of toolbars & that definately includes that Google toolbar. I always recommend my clients against them & certainly that one. Generallly they are unnecessary, some are not even desirable & may cus problems or conflicts. Basically what they offer is redundant to other ways of accessing things... & lastly that's too bad since FF7 is a real improvement over its previous (old) versions. Not to mention, personally, I feel IE9 is better than FF, anyway. I have & use several browsers but, IE is usually sufficient.

    Also, this may be of some significance...
    [h=3]Mozilla has now dropped support for All versions of Firefox except Firefox 7.01 + Firefox 3.6.23!

    (If you are currently using Firefox 5.0 or Firefox 6.0, upgrading to Firefox 7.01 is now suggested.)[/h]
     

Share This Page

Loading...