Games not working on Windows 11

olivialouise94

Hello, I recently bought a 2022 HP Pavilion running Windows 11. I am a big fan of the Nancy Drew PC games by HER Interactive, I've been playing them for 20+ years. However, the newer games won't work on my new computer. Every time I start the game, it flashes. I've tried changing the refresh rate, running in different compatibility modes, changed the DPI settings.....absolutely nothing is working. I used to play them all on a 2012 HP Pavilion that just died. Please help?

Hi,

There is a thread about this on the Microsoft Answers forum that might help you. I suggest trying the one described here:

I was having the same issue when trying to load The Haunting of Castle Malloy onto my new Windows 11 computer. I spent hours trying all the recommendations here to date, but was still getting flickers that made the game unplayable.

I did find another recommendation that seemed to work. Basically, as I understand it (which might be an oversimplification, but that's me), the games need some older graphics files and can't find them. And you can't install an older versions onto your new computer without messing things up.

A user on Reddit said he was able to get his wife's to work by downloading the latest version of dgVoodoo2, which identifies itself as "a set of implementation of old graphics API's for Windows 7 and later versions." Once downloaded, he said NOT to install it on your system (hence, messing up your new computer), but rather move the downloaded files directly into your game's file. From there, locate and copy the files with the dll extension back into the game file.

Downloads - Dege's stuffs

When I did this, the game opened in a small window, but I was able to use the settings in the game, "full window 2", to get a good sized playing area. It now says dgvoodoo2 in the lower right corner, so I guess it's working!