Hacking AERO to work

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by Vignesh S, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. Vignesh S

    Vignesh S New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an old 2001 desktop that actually is quite a powerhouse (well in its day it certainly was), and Vista works fine with it (the driver issues are now sussed, all thanks to compatibility mode). But there's only one slight problem.

    The graphics rating in the WEI is 1.9, just 0.1 off from being able to run AERO (the WEI overall rating is 1.0, and that's in the business graphics section)

    Now, based on this, is it possible to hack AERO to actually get it to work? I know my graphics card is more than capable of running it, and as you can tell, it's only 0.1 off from actually being able to run it.

    Specs (in case you need them):
    Gigabyte P4 Titan 533 845E series motherboard
    Pentium 4 Single Core running around 2.5-3.0 GHz
    1.5GB RAM DDR1 (1x 512MB RAM chip; 1x 1024 RAM chip)
    Nvidia GeForce2 MX400 64MB VRAM

    If you need more specs, let me know

    By the way, would I need 2.0 in the graphics AERO section, or do I need more than 2.0 as the overall WEI rating?
     
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Google "aero hack" and there are a lot of articles.
     
  3. Vignesh S

    Vignesh S New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try the registry hack on it (it didn't work on my laptop, but its graphics sucks anyway)

    Does this also work in Windows 7? Or are things a little bit different? If so, how?
     
  4. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    I don't know. I never had to work on aero personally.
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Microsoft list the specs needed for aero are:

    a 1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
    1 GB of system memory
    a DirectX 9 compatible graphics processor with a Windows Display Driver Model (WDDM) driver, Pixel shader 2.0 in hardware, and a minimum of 128 MB of Video RAM
    32 bits per pixel

    So depending on how near or far your hardware is to that spec is going to be your decider... vista hacks will usually work in 7 and it's just a case of trying each hack to see if they work or not..
    Don't forget that laptop is now 8yrs old so I'm doubtful you'll see a successful outcome to this but then again you never know.... Try it and see. :)

    Windows Aero - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
     
  6. hcm2009

    hcm2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all!
    I've just visited this forum. Happy to get acquainted with you. Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...