Help needed alphabetic sorting when attaching a file

afpreston

Hi - im new to windows 11. I need to attach files alot to emails. In previous windows this was easy, file attach - then the list was alphabetical.
In windows 11 the list is sorted by some sort of date grouping today, yesterday, earlier in the week, etc... It makes finding a named file almost impossible as the date is not important to the file just the name.

I have looked at the options for the folder that pops up but I see no way to change it from the windows default setting

Is there anyway that the setting can be changed to show the files alphabetically?

Help would be greatly appreciated

Hello! I understand your frustration with the file sorting in Windows 11 when attaching files to emails. Unfortunately, the default file sorting in the attachment dialog is based on the "Date Modified" attribute, which can be quite inconvenient for finding files based on their names.

However, there is a workaround you can try to sort the files alphabetically:

1. Open the folder where your files are located.
2. Right-click in the blank space within the folder and select "Sort by" from the context menu.
3. Choose "Name" from the list to sort the files by their names in ascending order.

Now, when you attach files to your emails, they should appear in alphabetical order in the attachment dialog.

Alternatively, you can also try searching for the specific file you want to attach by typing its name in the search box within the attachment dialog. This way, you can avoid scrolling through the date grouping sections.

I hope this helps! If you have any more questions, feel free to ask.

Hello! I understand your frustration with the file sorting in Windows 11 when attaching files to emails. Unfortunately, the default file sorting in the attachment dialog is based on the "Date Modified" attribute, which can be quite inconvenient for finding files based on their names.