How to change user name

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by CAG43, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. CAG43

    CAG43 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I go to Control Panel and click on User Accounts there is a user named CAG, but when I go to drive C and click on Users CAG does not appear. However there is an account named Owner that appears to contain all of CAG's sub-accounts. Therefore, I tried to rename the Owner account to CAG but could not access the name field. What should I do to change the name?

    CAG
     
  2. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Honorable Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    214
    Hi CAG and welcome to the forum:

    Your post in in the Windows Vista forum; is this the software running you are asking about?? If so, what Service Pack do you have installed on the Vista?

    User Accounts do not contain "sub-accounts", rather they contain objects, usually you are looking for folders (or folder objects) listed in Windows Explorer underneath a User Account, name of Owner or CAG or anything else.

    Is this a new computer you just bought and started using, or it a computer you have owned for sometime?

    Usually folks have a problem like this if they purchased or were given a new computer, and are trying to change the name of the Owner or Adminstrator account that comes up on the Windows login screen (the one with the little picture and the box asking for your password).

    You need to determine if CAG is an Administrator account or a "Limited" account. You can do this through Control Panel-->User Accounts-->Manage Another Account. This will show you all the created accounts in the Windows running on your computer since it was new or last rebuilt.

    If CAG is on that screen and listed as type "Administrator"; you should be able to login as CAG and change it yourself.

    This could be a problem of a scrambled Windows profile; it's kinda hard since I don't have your computer right in front of me. There is a fix for this, but you should first backup all personal data to external media using whatever User profile you've been using to logon to Windows on that computer. This would include such items as Documents, Photos, Music, Videos, E-mails, etc.

    The usual process is to logon to your computer using whichever User Profile you use with that computer on a daily basis. This could be Owner, CAG, or perhaps Administrator. You can then create another User Account (say TEST), and then copy the User Profile from the account you logged on with over to the newly created User Account TEST. Proceed to logoff Windows and re-login using the new User Account TEST. I recommend you create a password for this TEST account. It can be something simple like "12345" or whatever you normally like to use. WRITE THAT PASSWORD DOWN!! Once that's accomplished you can go back to Control Panel-->User Accounts-->Manage Another Account, and access the new TEST account. You should now be logged on as Administrator User TEST, and you can now rename your User Profile to whatever you want; for example CAG.

    This should work in most cases. If you find you can't use CAG as your new User Profile name, try to change it to something close such as CAG2 or CAG3. If that works, but CAG doesn't, you've got some Windows corruption possibly due to some viruses or malware, and that will need to be fixed. If no virus or malwares are found, and you still can't rename the new account to CAG; you could have a problem with hardware or the Windows itself. If your computer is older than 5 yrs. old this is highly likely. This can usually be remedied by testing your hard drive (post back for instructions), and if OK, a Windows reset or reinstall should solve that problem.

    There are about 100 things that I've seen that can cause this kind of problem; and they usually involve some program that was installed and later uninstalled, but uninstalled improperly (or improperly coded), and Windows account corruption is almost certain to have occurred. This is almost certainly true if you recently acquired your computer via purchase or gift; as most folks when they sell a computer (yard sale, pawn shop, etc.) rarely clean it, and even more rarely perform a clean Windows install on it. Since I don't know you, I have no idea if this is the case with your computer, or how you came by it if not yours since it was brand new out of the box. Your biggest issue is to determine whether you have an older computer that has a failing or failed hard drive to be the source of this problem. If your hard drive passes muster, then you have a software problem with Windows and a reinstall is usually required.

    Let us know how it turns out or if y ou have further questions.

    Best of luck,
    <<<BIGBEARJEDI>>>
     
  3. CAG43

    CAG43 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello BIGBEARJEDI,

    Thank you for welcoming me to the forum. I appreciate your thoughtful response to my question.

    I am running Vista Home Premium, Service Pack 2 on a Toshiba Satellite A205-S55825 which I purchased in 2008.

    When I go to Control Panel > User Accounts>Manage Another Account I see account CAG, type Administrator. It is my understanding that when I go to C:/Users// the account should appear there but it does not.

    I have backed up Drive C to an external media using Macrium Reflect Windows Backup feature and verified the integrity of the backup file.

    Using Control Panel, I created another user account called, TEST. This account did not appear under C:/User. I rebooted the computer and looked for it again but did not find it. I returned to Control Panel and created an account called CAG43. When I looked for this account on Drive C/Users it was not there either. There seems to be a discrepancy between how Vista is running on my computer and how it should run.

    I examined the contents of C/Users and I found (1) two log files size zero. I deleted them. (2) a file that referenced Norton Power Eraser and indicated an update was needed. I downloaded and installed the Norton Power Eraser update and I ran it. It found no errors so I dragged the folder from C Users to the desktop. Next I ran CCleaner and then I ran Windows Drive Cleaner and deleted unnecessary files.

    My system seems to runs efficiently except for this malfunction. What if after testing that I can restore my backup to another drive I wiped the hard drive, tested it and if it passed reinstalled the backup. Or is there a more direct approach?






     
  4. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Honorable Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    214
     

Share This Page

Loading...