SavorySilicon

QB Desktop Enterprise 2024 Manufacturering and wholesale.
I have 2 PC, 2 workers. .QBW file located in Onedrive folder, synced to both PC.
Can both PC have the same .QBW company file open, and being edited simultaneously, through Onedrive? Is QB setup to do that? Is that safe? Should 2 PC edit a file in Onedrive at the same time?
QB has a “Multi-User Mode” that I have successfully used, when the file was located offline, on our network, but now I am asking if I can do that with Onedrive instead. QB multiuser mode works perfectly when file is on an office file server, there is no problem there. How do I use the file on the cloud? Do QB users do that, is that normal?
I have no interest in switching to QB Online version, I want to stay with QB Desktop Enterprise 2024 Manufacturering and wholesale.
I am a novice with QB, please do not assume I know any settings, please explain step by step answer, thank you.

Solution
Using QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise in a multi-user environment through OneDrive is not recommended, as cloud storage services like OneDrive do not support simultaneous file access in the way that QuickBooks requires. Here’s a detailed explanation and step-by-step guidance on why this setup is problematic and what alternatives are available:

Understanding the Limitations of Using OneDrive for QuickBooks Multi-User​

1. Simultaneous File Access:
    • QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise requires real-time, simultaneous access to the company file in multi-user mode. OneDrive and similar cloud storage solutions sync files rather than providing real-time simultaneous access, which can lead to data corruption.
    []File...