How to import mysql database in phpmyadmin - windows server 2008

Discussion in 'Windows Server Forums' started by serverguy, Apr 9, 2016.

  1. serverguy

    serverguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am playing around with windows server 2008 and learning how to use it. Just a hobby on weekends.

    I was able to successfully install:

    php, mysql & phpmyadmin


    Now the problem is i'm trying to import a database into phpmyadmin,

    the database is 42.6mb therefore i am unable to import straight from phpmyadmin because it's too big.

    Usually on linux i am unable to import it via the phpmyadmin page because of its size, so i import it via the terminal/putty. But since this is my first time using windows server, i am unfamiliar with this system.


    So how am i able to import the database into phpmyadmin?

    Do i do it via the cmd(command prompt) or the mysql.exe terminal?


    i'm sorta lost on this, any advice?


    thanks!
     
    #1 serverguy, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
  2. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    Is it PHP blocking the file upload because it's too big? Most likely that is the cause, open your PHP.ini and look for the following settings:

    memory_limit
    post_max_size
    upload_max_filesize

    Adjust the size as needed.
     
  3. serverguy

    serverguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had those 3 settings in php.ini already to 500mb. It still didn't work. I forgot to write the error code here.

    It seems i had to go into "Request Filtering" and add .sql to the allowed list.

    Afterwards i had to go into the FastCGI Settings and change the Activity Timeout

    After that, i uploaded the file and it worked. I got more error so i had to import the database in 3 sections.

    I still would've liked to know how to import it via terminal, isn't it faster?

    oh well, i guess i don't need to know anymore. Seems to be working.

    thanks!
     
    #3 serverguy, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
  4. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    MySQL for Windows comes with the binaries to allow you to do all the things you do with it in Linux from the Command Prompt.

    They should be in the bin folder of your installation..

    You can perform the usuals, such as "mysql.exe -u root -p"
     
    serverguy likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...