I could use some help choosing an internet connector

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by trog69, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. trog69

    trog69 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am coming into possession of a gaming laptop to add to my gaming desktop. The desktop is connected to the cable modem, and I would like to also add the laptop to this setup, but I don't need whole house coverage, merely my room, itself. Is there a way to connect the laptop via some type of splitter for the cat5 ethernet connection? I have seen switches such as this one: Newegg.com - TRENDnet TEG-S50G Unmanaged 10/100/1000Mbps Gigabit GREENnet Switch

    but I'm unfamiliar with its usage and safety. I know I can go with a wireless router, but since it's just me, here usually, I don't want to spend $100 on a wireless router if I don't need it.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Yes - all you need for what you describe is a layer 2 switch and the one in the link you provided will do the jobfor you. If all the switch ports are the same speed (and they probably are) then it doesn't matter which is used but if one is faster then the modem should connect to that one.
     
    #2 patcooke, Jan 8, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
    1 person likes this.
  3. trog69

    trog69 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you very much. I will order this right now.
     
  4. trog69

    trog69 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    I received the switch in the link I provided above, but I'm still very confused. There is no "Main" plug in from the cable modem. Just 5 ethernet plug-ins. The instructions, what very tiny amount there is, only says to plug an ethernet cat6(which I also purchased) cable from a computer, into the switch. What am I missing here? The switch still needs internet from the modem, right? Do I just plug in the ethernet cable from the modem into one of the switch plug-ins as well?
     
    #4 trog69, Jan 10, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
  5. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Yes that's it - ethernet from modem to switch and ethernet from switch to pc.
     
  6. trog69

    trog69 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you, patcooke, for the quick response. I should have asked; is there a preferred plug-in? I presume they're all the same, but just in case.
     
  7. trog69

    trog69 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just as a followup; the switch method did not work. Any PC other than the first connected will not be recognized in an un-managed switch connection. I could get a connection for either unit, but both together resulted in only the first connected having success. I have now gone with a wireless router, for which I have a question posted in another thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...