Windows 11 I have used Macrium Reflect

Peterr

Fantastic Member
I have used Macrium Reflect for years and being free it lacked encryption. I just found that out b/c it is EOL for free.
I keep trying different ones and don't know whether to stay with Macrium and pay or go elsewhere.
I tried Windows B+R and it was fine but heard it is not long for this world. I am 83 so we are in a race.
Others like Paragon were a disaster. There are two others but they are similar to Macrium and they are in countries at odds with ours. I don't know if that makes a differences -I don't mind buying a pen from them but a backup is sensitive. I guess as a disabled vet I am biased.
Money is a factor so what would you do? Thanks.

I have also been a long time user of Macrium free. But, version 8 free seems to be lacking the ability to make an image and restore the image. Previous versions provided a way to boot to a "mini windows" on a USB stick. Then the entire system could be restored to the PC. I have been unable to find a way to create a "mini windows" bootable USB stick in version 8 free. Another thing that irks me is that the website seems to deliberately obscure the cost of the paid version(s). Anyway, I am looking at other options.

Regards, Jim

I made my rescue media by opening Macrium then with a flash drive in, clicked on create rescue media. That is what I boot off of with F8 when restarting. It is still working as usual till 1-2024.
I have tried a lot, but they have been difficult especially paragon. I think Aomei and Easeus are available or pay Macrium $69.
Let me know if you have any luck with a backup and restore program.

I made my rescue media by opening Macrium then with a flash drive in, clicked on create rescue media. That is what I boot off of with F8 when restarting. It is still working as usual till 1-2024.
I have tried a lot, but they have been difficult especially paragon. I think Aomei and Easeus are available or pay Macrium $69.