Issue with old CoD2 game

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by skljom, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. skljom

    skljom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I am using windows 8.1 and CoD2 doesn't work properly. I can't change ingame gamma and when I enter the game first time it automaticly minimizes and has desktop mouse overlay. Can you help me fix it? My windows is up to date, game is set to run as windows xp, run as admin, disable display scaling... It works on windows7 normaly when it is set to run as windows xp.
     
  2. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    Is it in-stalled to the C:/ program files folder?
     
  3. skljom

    skljom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes
     
  4. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    ok un-install it and put it in a different place eg. G:/ cod2 or D:/ games/ cod2, even C:/ games/ cod2 will do if you only have a C drive... any where but c:/ programs folder.
     
  5. skljom

    skljom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    willy try now
     
  6. skljom

    skljom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    sooo I did it and game takes 1-2min to enter in windows 8.1 mode, when I switch to compactibility mode as windows xp it enters the game immediatly but the gamma won't work and I would have desktop mouse overlay, so I need to ALT-TAB into the game to get rid of the desktop mouse... I don't get it why is windows8.1 compactibility mode different than windows7, because in windows7 running cod2 as windows xp works just fine.
     
  7. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    Because windows 7 and xp both use the old legacy formats and 8 does not.

    At this point I’d be looking at what graphics – card has your system got i.e. ati or intel (model number)… I suspect your direct X isn’t configured correctly (or fully compatible) for a 8.1 system.

    A possible work around could be to install vmware and load a windows 7 or XP system onto it but that’s a lot of mucking around for a single game.

    You may be better off posting your question in one of the gaming forums as call of duty is an older game and they tend to attract a following… odds are one of them has already figured out a way to get it working on 8.1.
     
  8. skljom

    skljom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    no1 has figured out how to run it properly on windows 8.1, I guess windows 8.1 doesn't support older games to run properly. I guess rumors are true that windows7 is a better OS for gaming. I have the latest direct x and latest drivers and everything up to date and running properly. Thanks for answers man!
     

Share This Page

Loading...