Locking Issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by TheIgster, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Windows 7 on my PC with no issues. My wife however has a bit of an older system (that I upgraded recently) and it has been having issues. Many times with the computer left on, she'll turn on the monitor when coming back and there will be a message there about Windows recovering from a bluescreen (the system rebooted itself). Now, she has been getting some freezing, as well as IE shutting down when she is checking her Hotmail and browsing. The next time the bluescreen happens I can get the info and post if, but I don't have it handy.

    I'm wondering if her system simply can't keep up with Windows 7? Here is some of her newly updated comp info:

    Windows 7 x64 Build 7201
    Acer System - Mother Board Model F672CR, Pentium D925 CPU 3.00GHz
    2 DDR2 2048 Simms (4096 total)
    NVIDIA GeForce 7950 GT

    Any help? She wants to go back to Vista and I don't even know where her Vista discs are...:(

    Thanks.
     
  2. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    No thoughts guys?

    I'm downloading and will have to reinstall Vista for her I guess. Can't find the install discs, but she does legally own a copy.

    Sucks because I like have 7 loaded on both systems and wanted to stick with it and buy the retail release when it comes out, but hers continues to crash. Mine if working incredibly well. Too bad...:(
     
  3. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Ive seen 7 run on a lot less. Id try installing the RC downloaded from Microsoft if you wanted to keep 7.
     
  4. adduncan

    adduncan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree. That PC specification is more than high enough to run Windows 7

    As above, try the RC1 that is available on the Microsoft website
     
  5. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pretty sure this was happening using the RC as well guys.

    I'll try loading 7100 again and see if it makes a difference, but I've got no locking issues on my machine at all running 7201.
     
    #5 TheIgster, Jun 10, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2009
  6. adduncan

    adduncan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've got 7100 running here with no issues. all seems stable
     
  7. TheIgster

    TheIgster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, back to 7100 and 32-bit. 7100 and 64-bit locked all the time still. Guess we will see.

    Sucks that I have to buy a 32-bit version and a 64-bit version if this all works out...:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...